Weaning off of Domperidone

I’ve been slowly weaning myself off of Domperidone since two days after Charlotte’s first birthday. “They” say that you should wean slowly off of this drug because it has some yucky withdrawal symptoms. I took that to heart and followed the recommendation to drop 10 mg per day from my dose each week.

Before weaning, I was on 160 mg per day, so week one was 150 mg, week 2 was 140 mg and so on.

Things were going great for several months. I kept lowering my dosage, but my supply didn’t take a hit. I felt absolutely fine. Everything was rolling right along according to plan.

Unfortunately, in the past 10 days or so (I’m at 50 mg per day now), there’s been a noticeable shift. My supply has decreased very noticeably and along with that has come some severe anxiety—comparable to what I was dealing with a few months postpartum when I was genuinely afraid to leave the house with or without my child.

I’m no doctor, but if I had to guess, I’d say that this is all hormonal. The Dom was helping to keep my hormones where they needed to be for milk production, and now I’m at such a low dose that the hormones are crashing and so is my sanity.

It sucks. I have spent the morning sitting at my desk at work wound so tight that I can’t think straight and feeling like I need to eat and/or shop. #unhealthycopingmechanisms

The silver lining is that I know this won’t last forever. I am grateful that I can recognize it for what it is, and try to deal accordingly. I’m hopeful that my body will adjust to its current hormonal state in a week or so and that the piddly dosage I’m still taking won’t really be much of an issue from here on out.

Fingers crossed.

10 thoughts on “Weaning off of Domperidone

  1. I’ve heard that, unfortunately, weaning often involves depression and/or anxiety. I’m so sorry you’re in the thick of it. I hope things adjust quickly and you can finish out the process smoothly

  2. Weaning made me SO depressed and anxious for a good couple weeks. But once my hormones got balanced out, I felt more like myself again. I hope the same for you. These hormones are no joke!

  3. Oh, this is rough. Hope that you’re feeling more yourself soon. Jen and I have often remarked to each other that the one drawback to being in a relationship with another woman is wacky hormonal swings x2.

    • What really makes me nervous is that although I’m almost off of the Dom (down to 3 pills a day), Charlotte is now nursing like a FIEND. She was doing great–I had her to the point where she was only nursing before her nap, at bedtime and if she woke up in the night. Now I cannot keep her away from my boobs. So there’ll be another hormonal crash once I get her back on the weaning train. I just haven’t had the energy to fight her on this.

Leave a comment