Return of the Daily Grind

Catch heads back to work in a week, and I am already mourning the loss of our summer. This has been such a wonderful summer. Things have been so peaceful and slow-paced. I hate that it’s all coming to an end.

To prepare for the change in our routine, I spent the entire weekend in the kitchen stocking up the freezer. I haven’t really cooked much this summer, and I admit that it felt pretty good to get back into my kitchen groove. We’ve got spaghetti sauce, pesto from the garden (soooo much basil!), two sets of brined pork chops, lemon chicken thighs for the Instant Pot, honey glazed chicken thighs for the Instant Pot, breakfast burritos, caramelized onions, blueberry banana popsicles, turkey/veggie sloppy joes, and shredded pork. I feel like I deserve a gold star. (I also made a German chocolate cake from scratch for my dad’s birthday in the midst of all of the freezer meals.)

Back to work for Catch also means school for Charlotte. She started with half days last week, and she did so well. We were ridiculously proud of her. There were virtually no tears, and her teachers were thrilled with how well she did. Even though Catch is off this week, we decided that she’s going to start full time (complete with early morning care) as of today. I dropped her off at 7:30 and she was pretty clingy, but I know she’s in good hands in the right place. I just have to remember that the Range Rover moms in the yoga outfits that cost more than I make in a week are not picking up their kids at noon AT me. (I will not miss standing in that crowd at pickup time…)

I was on vacation last week, so with Charlotte in school from 9-12, Catch and I had a whole week of quiet mornings to ourselves. On Wednesday, we celebrated the 12th anniversary of our first date and our 9 year wedding anniversary with fancy waffles at a trendy spot we would never bother to try to get into on a weekend morning. After Charlotte went to bed, we lit a few candles outside and enjoyed a caprese salad (tomato & basil from our garden) and a bottle of wine in the back yard. It was a really nice day. I am damn lucky to have that woman by my side. She’s pretty special.

I am still plugging along on Zoloft, for anyone who’s keeping track. I feel like I started to notice a difference right around Charlotte’s birthday party last week. I was much more relaxed about it than I would normally expect myself to be. My in-laws were here for a few days, and I never felt overwhelmed by them, which is highly unusual. At the same time, I also can’t definitively sit here and say that I feel Better. Maybe better, but not Better. More thoughts on Zoloft another day.

We had the pleasure of meeting a lovely blog friend and her fantastic kiddo last week while I was off. I won’t name names as I know she is fiercely private (as much as you can be in this space!) but it was so nice to see them. I wish we could all get together for a big blog weekend one day. We’d have a blast for sure. Catch asked me how I knew she wasn’t a murderer trying to kidnap our child and all I could say was I just know. This little world can be a bit hard to explain sometimes.

Hope to be back here soon with some of these thoughts filling up my head.

5 thoughts on “Return of the Daily Grind

  1. I’m glad to hear Charlotte is doing so well at her new school! That makes life so much easier for moms!

    I hear you on the blogging thing – I wish we all lived in the same vicinity for the community and sharing and support that we offer each other online. It’s so great to be able to connect with some of our people in person, too!

  2. I’m also thrilled to hear that the school transition is going well!! Honestly it was such a relief once i realized how much little mpb loves his school, and it sounds like you are already realizing this. ☺
    And I love that you enjoyed your anniversary together.
    Also, I totoallly understand what you mean about just knowing when you meat blogger friends. Also, I totally expect to meet you one day because we will be taking Lottle MPB to your part of the world. ☺

  3. I think that if someone were to kidnap your kid, it would not be for murderous purposes. Entertainment and bear-hunting only. Maybe a bloody-lip bucket brawl.Thanks for vouching for me. 😉

    (Which is mostly an excuse to say that we had a great time meeting/playing with you and to confirm that I’m fine with blog names only–I just get protective if there are photos OR blog names here mixed with real names elsewhere. Thanks for erring on the side of caution, though!)

Leave a Reply

