Julys

I met my wife in July of 2005.

We were married in July of 2008.

We tend to vacation in July (#imarriedateacher) and we’ve spent our Julys together all over…

Big Sur

The Sequoias

The American River

The Kern River

Nevada, Arizona, Utah, Colorado, Wyoming, South Dakota, Alaska, Oregon

Canada

Mexico

In July of 2014, we were in Lake Tahoe mentally preparing ourselves for IVF.

It’s only fitting that our little girl was born in July. When I really think about it, how could she possibly have come any other month? July is our month. Every step along the road to Charlotte lead to July.

So, 3 days short of the 10th anniversary of our first date (also our 7th wedding anniversary), we welcomed our greatest adventure. The tip of our triangle. The yellow to our blue and red. The scissors to our rock and paper.

3 is my lucky number, you know.

I think about the final moments before our daughter took her first breath in that delivery room… our last minutes as a duo. I can hear my wife encouraging me despite my insistence that I can’t do it anymore. Neither of us could have imagined how often that same exchange would take place over the coming months.

And then there were three.

I only had a split second to feel the weight of my baby against me after she was born. She was blue and a bit floppy. Her cry was a barely audible squeak. She was whisked away from me before my eyes could even focus.

My wife held my hand tightly as she watched them work on our baby across the room. I couldn’t see them, so in the confusion I watched my wife’s face intently for a sign that everything was going to be okay. Again, I had no idea how many times I would do that same thing in the months to come.

Finally—just as the pediatrician rushed in—we heard her cry. Loud and long and clear. I felt myself relax for the first time in 9 months. It was only ten minutes between her birth and the moment I finally had her in my arms, but it felt like an eternity.

How has it been two years since I held my baby for the first time? How is it that something can feel like yesterday and a lifetime ago all at once?

My tiny little squish is two years old today. She is singing loudly and running full speed through life. Nothing makes me happier than watching as she grows into herself and learns to navigate her world.

This little July baby completes us in ways we never even imagined.

Happy birthday, Charlotte Louise. You are the greatest thing to ever rock our world.


5 thoughts on “Julys

Leave a Reply

