Thirty Six

When I woke up on Friday morning, I was 36. To celebrate, Catch and I kissed the kid goodbye and left her in the care of our nanny while we drove up the coast.

Our first stop was Solvang. I can’t count how many times I’ve been in that little town, and every time I’m there we drive by an ostrich farm where you can feed the ostriches. I have always wanted to stop there. As we drove, Catch said, “Do you wanna go feed the ostriches?” And that is how we ended up here, feeding a bunch of crazed ostriches and emus from a dog bowl attached to a dustpan:

BdayWknd02BdayWknd01temporary-29

I will be totally content to never do that again. Not because it was a bad experience or anything… I just think I’m probably good for at least another 36 years now. Ostriches and emus are pretty creepy.

In town, we bought danishes to take home, I ate my fill of aebelskivers with raspberry sauce, and we picked up a sandwich to share later in the day.

From there, we hit up Foxen Winery (our favorite!), for a tasting. It’s worth noting that Foxen has two tasting rooms that each pour different wines, so you actually do two full tastings there. That’s a lot of wine for someone who hasn’t been tasting in 3 years, but it was worth it. It was amazing!

img_5695img_5696BdayWknd03BdayWknd04BdayWknd05

We sat out on their patio with the winery kitties and ate our sandwich after we finished our tastings. It was a beautiful day and it felt so good to be in one of our favorite places again. I have missed it. (My checking account, on the other hand, has definitely NOT missed it.) Sitting outside at Foxen on a sunny day felt like a quintessential “us” thing to do. We needed that. I needed it.

We left wine country and headed toward home, but I convinced Catch to stop at our favorite beach on the way. As we walked, we saw dolphins and a sea lion playing out in the water. It was really a spectacular afternoon. I’m so glad we stopped!

BdayWknd06BdayWknd07BdayWknd08BdayWknd09

We made it home just in time to tuck Charlotte in and kiss her goodnight. From there, I collapsed into an exhausted, grateful, 36 year old heap on the couch.

Another birthday for the books.

10 thoughts on “Thirty Six

  1. This sounds amazing. I mean, I don’t really care for birds that are taller than I am nor am I much of a wine drinker, but it still sounds amazing. Happy birthday–glad you got to take some time to yourselves!

  2. Glad it was such a great day 😊 The pictures are beautiful, as always. In my next life I think I’d like to be a winery cat….

Leave a Reply

