Inadequate

I had a really bad day today. 

It started when Charlotte woke up at midnight and it took me forever to get her back to sleep. Then she was up again 2 hours later and it was another hour before I was able to get her back down. 

I feel like I blinked and it was time to get up. And of course I woke up with a cough courtesy of the family cold. 

Charlotte was grouchy and clingy and wouldn’t let me get ready for work. And today was an important work day so I needed to do the full hair & makeup thing. I ended up leaving the house way late. 

Then I had to sit in ridiculous traffic to get to West Hollywood for a meeting. A meeting where our executive team ripped me to shreds in front of my colleagues for things that are both completely out of my control and beyond the scope of my position. 

It was a 4 hour meeting. Halfway through, I felt a migraine setting in. By the time I left, my head was pounding. I had to drive home through a canyon in rush hour traffic feeling like I was going to have to stop the car and throw up. 

I pulled up at home and first thing, my wife saw the yellow paint on my bumper from the pole I didn’t see in the drive through at McDonalds yesterday when I bought Charlotte an ice cream cone. She was upset. Understandably. 

I started to cry. In an effort to hide the tears, I rubbed mascara into my eyes and it made them burn which made the tears even worse. 

But then?

My little girl wrapped her arms around me and as she rested her head on my shoulder, she declared with a sigh, “Mama’s here.”

I’m pretty sure she’s the only thing I’m doing right. I’d do today a thousand times over for her. 

7 thoughts on “Inadequate

    • I will mever undeestand why work people believe treating someone so poorly is acceptable. And I’m sorry about the yellow paint too, that sucks.
      But I’ll admit that I am so glad you were able to come home to charlotte! She is definitely one amazing little girl!

Leave a Reply

