Hot

There is so much going on in the world right now that seems worthy of crying over. I mean seriously—where to even begin? But you know what reduced me to tears last night?

My kid will not eat a vegetable.

She has a new trick up her toddler sleeve. If she doesn’t like something, she will spit it out and say, “Hot!” Over the weekend, Catch was feeding her a squeeze tube of yogurt that had been frozen (to help with teething pain) and she ate a bit before she insisted, “Hot!” and wouldn’t touch it anymore. Last night at dinner, I was trying to get her to eat some (completely cooled) roasted vegetables, and every bite was “Hot!”

So after watching her spit out bite after bite of roasted veggies, I sat myself on the dog bed in the kitchen and cried my eyes out while she played with Catch in the other room.

Some days, parenting is really damn hard.

12 thoughts on “Hot

    • You know, logically, I know this isn’t the end of the world. She’s healthy. She eats fruit like CRAZY. She’s just so damn picky and I’m so frustrated by it. I’m sick of trying so damn hard when all she really wants is some blueberries and a damn pancake.

      • Toddler pickiness is annoying, for sure. I always give the kids whatever they want for breakfast-lunch-snack, and they get what I make for dinner. I mean, I try to make stuff I know they like, but if they don’t eat it then whatever.

  1. I know what it’s like to have a picky eater. It fucking sucks. Evelyn’s is “I don’t like it” even though she’s never tried a single bite of whatever “it” is. Infuriating. I feel you!

  2. Why do other people’s struggles make you feel so much better?? My kids have reduced me to tears over the whole food situation. They don’t want to eat ANYTHING. Vegetables? forget it. But now they’re turning up their noses to mac & cheese, pasta, yogurt and fruit. Basically the only things they will eat. I may or may not have yelled “F it…I don’t care if you starve.” last week after making them 14 different things and them all end up on the floor. And then I sat on the floor and cried.#momoftheyear

    The struggle is real but the good new is they will only be toddlers for a short while. Then we’ll have a whole new list of frustrations.

    • OMG I feel you. It’s so important to keep it in perspective–with toddlers, everything is temporary–but at the same time, we’re only human. I think what I struggle with the most is that I put precious time into preparing food for all of us–time that could be spent playing or snuggling. And then when she flat out refuses it it’s like WHY?! Why did I waste my time/energy. God knows both are in short supply these days!

  3. As frustrating as that is, it’s super cute! I know how frustrating it can be. We started cutting the veggies really tiny and mixing it with things they love (even if they arent the best option, but i’ll take it!), like literally smooshing the carrots with s a fork into almost a puree and mixing it with rice…carrots got eaten! Maybe something like that might work…just a suggestion!

Leave a Reply

