Photo A Day Project: Days 13-19

I decided to try to take a photo a day with my DSLR for 100 days. Here’s this week’s batch!

I wasn’t going to post this today. It’s a dark day for my country, and I am overflowing with rage and sadness and a fierce need for… something. I don’t know what yet. Just something.

So I wasn’t going to post these happy pictures because it feels like this day–inauguration day–does not deserve them.

But then I thought, NO. Because if I let them take my happy, I am letting them have a piece of me that they aren’t worthy of having.

Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

So today, in honor of this dark day, I am sharing these 7 pieces of my happiness with you with the simple reminder that the place we call home is always worth fighting for.

Day 13/January 13: Walking in mama’s shoes.

100days-jan13

Day 14/January 14: She wants to be a mermaid when she grows up.100days-jan14

Day 15/January 15: We’re painting and the house was total chaos. The TV was temporarily set up in the living room so Catch could watch the Packers win. It was a nailbiter. Charlotte is just happy that mama finally stopped yelling.100days-jan15

Day 16/January 16: She hasn’t figured out how to work her cozy coupe since we took out the floor board. She can push herself backward a few feet, but that’s it.

100days-jan16

Day 17/January 17: She will climb into the glider in her room now and demand, “Rah a bye.” We sit on the floor in front of her and rock the chair while singing “Rock a bye baby.” She sings it back to us.
100days-jan17

Day 18/January 18: Oma and Opa are visiting and the evening was a whirlwind. We put Charlotte to bed and I realized I never took a picture! I was so mad at myself until I remembered that this isn’t a Charlotte photo challenge–I never said that it all had to be pictures of Charlotte. So this is my sleep-deprived wife unwinding a bit before bed.It’s been a rough week with teething, and we excused ourselves to our bed at 7:30 that night. No regrets.100days-jan18

Day 19/January 19: She’s been experimenting in the tub lately. She will lean back into the water as far as she can until she realizes her head is going to go under the water. I’ve started draining most of the water out toward the end of her bath, and she lies back like she’s relaxing at the end of a long day. 100days-jan19

12 thoughts on “Photo A Day Project: Days 13-19

  1. Do not go gentle, Molly. Glad you posted. Maybe you should include the criterion that one photo a week has to be of something other than Charlotte. Regardless, keep looking for the beauty in the world. It’s a challenge we all could use now.

  2. Your image of Catch is lovely! Beautifully seen! Of course all the ones of Charlotte are beautiful but I like that your project is going to include your whole bubble. These are images which will be priceless for your little lady as she grows. The #existinphotos movement means you’ll have to figure out getting yourself in there too sometimes you know!

  3. I love these pictures. I should challenge myself to something like this. It’s hard to get photos with my phone now that Wolfie knows it plays games. I said I’d start taking more with my real camera, but it still just sits on the shelf. My pictures of him have declined and embarrassing amount.

  4. Pingback: Photo A Day Project: Days 20-26 | Hound Mamas

  5. Pingback: Photo A Day: Days 27-33 | Hound Mamas

  6. Pingback: Photo A Day Project: Days 34-40 | Hound Mamas

Leave a Reply

