Challenge Accepted

The past week has been out of control for me, but I really needed to take a moment to thank all of you who commented on my post about whether to leave Charlotte or not.

We are going for it. Tomorrow morning, I will leave the house and I’m not gonna see my little pumpkin again until late morning on Saturday. (Late enough morning that we can wake up when our bodies want to, order room service breakfast, and then get out of there.)

Assuming that I don’t get the emergency call from Grammy insisting that we come home.

I am equal parts excited and worried. Last night as I tried to fall asleep, I repeated, “She’s going to be absolutely fine. She’s going to be absolutely fine. She’s going to be absolutely fine…” Until I finally drifted off with the assistance of Benadryl because sleep has just not been my friend this week.

I really do believe she’s going to be absolutely fine. I worry that she’ll wake up in the middle of the night and freak out, but I’m trying to remain optimistic that my mom will be able to calm her down with a warm bottle and even some Sesame Street if that’s what it takes to distract her. (We did that at my in-laws house when she woke up and freaked out about where she was and we couldn’t calm her down—it worked and she went back to sleep after a short while.)

Wish us luck, friends.

I’ll catch up on all of your posts soon!

6 thoughts on “Challenge Accepted

Leave a Reply

