The Best Laid Plans

Last week, I made a meal plan for the rest of August. I found recipes, printed them out, stapled them all to my little calendar page and then started the grocery lists. I also made a list of items to make for the freezer, since my goal is for Mondays to be freezer nights—with the hope of making one thing a bit easier about Mondays.

FullSizeRender.jpg

(Fridays are circled because they’re now officially “date” nights–we eat dinner together after Charlotte goes to bed. We’ve done it the last two weeks and it’s been fantastic. It keeps us from spending the evening in a heap on the couch staring at our phones.)

After a Costco run, a trip to the grocery store, and a solid day and a half in the kitchen, I managed to put the following in my freezer:

  • 3 batches of my grandma’s spaghetti sauce
  • 50 turkey kale meatballs (to eat with spaghetti squash) (Great recipe–have made these a number of times. I use kale instead of spinach because we grow it in our garden.)
  • 2.5 lbs of turkey taco meat
  • A crap ton of caramelized onions (to add to things randomly because they take too long to make on a weeknight)
  • 2.5 lbs of sloppy joe meat with veggies
  • 3 lbs of chicken burger patties that were supposed to have kale in them but I forgot to add the kale even though it was washed, chopped and sitting right there (This is another good recipe that I’ve made before – they have great flavor, freeze really well and they’re easy to cook up)
  • 8 chicken breasts in a soy/bbq marinade for chicken rice bowls
  • A mason jar of taco seasoning mix
  • A mason jar of sloppy joe seasoning mix – I don’t know what got into me with the sloppy joes, as it’s something we would normally make maybe once a year, but it seemed like an easy freezer dinner so I went with it.

It’s not the most glamorous list, nor is it the most glamorous meal plan, but I am damn proud of myself for doing all of that prep work. I know it’s going to pay off in the end.

Naturally, I have already screwed up and I accidentally cooked this Sunday’s dinner last Sunday because I failed to notice that I neglected to plan a meal for last Sunday. (Lemon asparagus chicken stir fry—it was good, but I added a bit of dry ginger, a smidge of brown sugar and quite a bit of extra teriyaki sauce and soy sauce because it seemed dry. I also added a bit of cornstarch slurry at the end so it would make a nice thick sauce. It made great leftovers for work lunches.)

Anyway, we’ll see how well I stick to this.

Here are some more of the recipes that are on this month’s meal plan in case anyone is interested.

One Pan Balsamic Chicken & Veggies (never made this one before)

One Pot Lazy Stuffed Peppers (never made this before, but I’ll probably use turkey instead of beef)

Oven Fried Chicken Strips (These are REALLY good. Not healthy at all, but really good.)

 

8 thoughts on “The Best Laid Plans

  1. This is amazing and impressive. I’ve been scouring recipes and crock pot ideas lately for when I go back to work in a couple weeks. I like the Freezer Monday idea! And I will be stealing some of these recipes fo’ sho’

Leave a Reply

