The first birthday party

I have always been a crafty person. Catch used to give me a hard time because I had too many hobbies and too much stuff to go along with them.

I always envisioned that I’d be the mom who was constantly making things for her kid, but that hasn’t been the case. At all. For the last year, I’ve been way too busy momming, and there hasn’t been time for much else.

I started pinning ideas for Charlotte’s first birthday party on Pinterest months ago, and I decided that this was going to be it. This was going to be the time that I MAKE time for making. I was going to craft the hell out of this birthday party.

Except… yeah. Not so much.

Instead, I spent a lot of energy getting us ready for Mexico, and then we were IN Mexico and then we had to get home and unpack, and now we have to get the house ready for the 30 people who are coming to her party on Saturday.

So much for making time.

I’m doing what I can, though… with breaks and lunch hours and such. I’m starting to feel a bit overwhelmed by it all. I want to do so much, and I want everything to be perfect and photo ready and frankly, I’m just a damn crazy person because the only person who cares about these details is me.

I’m sort of enjoying the crazy, though. For now. And I’m trying to promise myself that when I stop enjoying the crazy, I will calm the hell down and just STOP. But we’re not there yet, so if you’ll excuse me, I have to go spend some more time trying not to cut my fingers off.

IMG_0691.JPG

22 thoughts on “The first birthday party

  1. Same 😔 If I were to try and knit I would have to dust my knitting stick thingys first! Have crazy fun though Mrs! Your little miss is adorable and I’m sure she’ll LOVE smearing cake in her hair (and yours!)

    • Ahh, knitting… Those were the days, right? I think the last thing I had on the needles was a stocking cap at Christmas that I never finished. Sigh. Someday, we will have time again. For now, we just have cake in our hair!

  2. Having just finished the mad sprint to Chick’s 1st birthday party, I FEEL THIS. It ended up being an amazing day, but I was a nut job for weeks prior. Then the extreme relief afterwards?

    1 year olds, maaaaaan… When did that happen?

  3. Wow. One. I can’t believe it. Our babies are being replaced by toddlers!

    I’m also crafty and thought I’d be that mom. I made so many things for J before she was born, but since then? Hardly anything. And I bought a bunch of party supplies for her first birthday party, even though I’ve been thinking about this party since before she was born.

    Your invitations look amazing! I’m trying to come up with a word that’s somewhere between jealous and sheepish but I can’t find it. Let’s go with impressed!

    • We’re going half way with things. We’re doing a strawberry theme, so I bought (a freaking TON of) solid red & green decorations and I’m adding my own strawberries to them. It gives things the home made touch without making me too crazy. It’s all going to be a bit haphazard, but it’ll have character for sure! LOL

    • I actually weaned myself off of pinterest because I was tired of feeling guilty for not doing/making all of the things. I’ve only allowed myself back on so I can see the board I had going for the birthday. Pinterest can bite me.

    • I so needed to hear that! Everyone keeps telling me I’m being silly because she won’t even remember it, but I will remember it and that’s why I’m making a fuss. Not to mention that I tend to be a fuss maker when I’m having people over in general, so this isn’t really that far off course for me!

Leave a Reply

