Zombieland

We were in teething hell last week. Seriously, it was awful. Lots of fussiness, very little sleep, constant low-grade fevers, and plenty of ibuprofen. Which leads me to 3:30 am:

Charlotte: SCREAM SCREAM SCREAM *chews on fist* SCREAM

Catch: What do we do?

Molly: I don’t know!

Charlotte: SCREAM SCREAM SCREAM *push mom away* *reach back for mom* *push mom away* *reach back for mom* SCREAM

Catch: Should I get ibuprofen?

Molly: YES

And that is the scenario that landed me on the phone with poison control at 4 am. Because we used the wrong syringe in a middle of the night, sleep-deprived fog, and gave Charlotte .625 ml (1/3 of a dose) more than we should have.

Guess what? The folks at poison control are LOVELY. Even though it was the middle of the night and we were probably the hundredth people calling because they overdosed their kid with some “foolproof” children’s medicine.

Also, it was absolutely fine. The awesome woman I spoke with asked a few questions, crunched some numbers, said not to give her any more ibuprofen for 8 hours and that she might have a bit of tummy upset, but that it was essentially no big deal.

Two days later, two new teeth had broken through. It appears that there’s still one more on the way, but things aren’t as bad as they were because Charlotte has been distracted by…

A COLD! Yes! Because moms didn’t need a break or anything.

So, hi from Zombieland. I took my first sick day since returning from maternity leave yesterday so I could stay home with my needy little monster. It was SUPER fun. Charlotte is going through this annoying-as-hell phase where she reaches out for me and then the minute I pick her up, she pushes away and insists I put her down… but the second I put her down, she’s reaching for me to pick her up again. We repeat this ad nauseam. All day. I do not understand it. I am so tired of being pushed away by my baby. WHAT DO YOU WANT FROM ME, CHILD?! MAKE UP YOUR MIND! I will so gladly comfort your sicky-yuckiness, but you have got to let me hold you for longer than 5 seconds.

I’m going to stop whining now and share with you a few brief moments of cuteness that arose on yesterday’s sick day. The previous owners of our house installed a cat door on the master bedroom door. We keep meaning to replace the door, but then something like this happens, and we’re just so entertained by it that we can’t imagine it not being there. Also, pardon the YELLOW walls. OMG I hate that room. Yellow is not my color. Someday, I will find the energy to paint.

Peek a boo from Molly on Vimeo.

23 thoughts on “Zombieland

  1. First the video is awesome. I smiled as I watched it because seriously that’s adorable!
    Second, I do not understand babies! Yes, they want you, then they don’t, then they do and then they don’t. And they scream the entire time and nothing seems to help. We’ve encountered this for the first real time this week and I’m loosing my mind already!! So, I get this now and I hope it ends for both of us ASAP! Sending so much love your way!

    • The previous owners REALLY liked yellow. We have two yellow rooms and the house is yellow. I associate the color with an ex best friend who turned into a homophobic bible spouting born again christian. Even her cars were yellow. Now yellow just makes me cringe. Kind of pathetic that i let that moron ruin an actual COLOR for me, huh? Maybe I need to work on that. Although I honestly can’t recall whether I ever liked yellow to begin with!

  2. That video is *adorable* and made me smile! Also, Charlotte looks so tall!

    That whole “I want you/I don’t want you” bit…sometimes my 3 year old *still* does it!

    • She is SO TALL. Her wardrobe can’t even keep up with her. I’m going to measure her this weekend for her 9 month update, but there’s a big part of me that really doesn’t want to know.

  3. Thank goodness it was ibuprofen not acetaminophen (Tylenol). We had an emergency visit with MT over an ibuprofen scare and I learned from the ER doc that even small overdoses of Tylenol can cause liver damage (and worse if not small, Tylenol can be readily fatal in small humans) whereas Advil overdoses are far more benign. That lesson had me throw out all liquid acetaminophen for years. Even now it’s on the highest shelf of our tallest cupboard, we buy only the tiniest bottle available and only when Ibuprofen alone won’t crack the wildly high fevers our boys get. The anxiety never ends does it?!?

    • I didn’t know that about Tylenol! Wow! For some reason I had it in my head that it was the opposite and that ibuprofen was riskier! Good to know. I’ll have to read up on that. And no–the anxiety never does end!

      • I know. I was shocked. During pregnancy Advil is much more dangerous to baby so it seemed counterintuitive to assume the opposite after delivery. But it’s true. I looked into it. Tylenol is baaaad for kids not just babies if doses are exceeded and it doesn’t take a lot to do harm or even cause death. The ER doc assured me that with ibuprofen the opposite is true. Our nanny had left Advil where MT could get into it and he did (big surprise right?) and the Dr said he could have taken a dozen and wouldn’t feel great but wouldn’t suffer permanent harm. Crazy!!

  4. Oh gosh, that video is adorable! And Charlotte is so long, she must be half a foot longer than J!

    Sorry to hear that teething and a cold have pushed you into zombie land. J is also teething. I was feeling so satisfied with her sleep progress for a short while, and now… This can’t last forever, right? They are going to really sleep someday? Like, for 7-8 hours? It just sounds impossible, doesn’t it.

    Hope Charlotte’s feeling better soon!

    • Someday they will sleep. Someday, we will be dragging their not-so-little butts out of bed. This too shall pass! (And yes–she is crazy tall. Her wardrobe can’t even keep up with her. It’s insane.)

  5. This is probably a dumb question, and i’m sure you have… but have you tried getting down on the floor with her when she wants you but is pushing you away? I have found with Wolfie that sometimes he wants me nearby, but he also wants to keep playing, so if I sit on the floor with him so I can be within arms reach while he goes about his business, that makes him happy.

  6. Bless her heart and your. Also, I’ve watched that video 1,762 times. Never remove that cat door. I may have to install one just for this very reason.

  7. Clearly, that is what cat doors are made for. So cute.

    Sometimes I wonder about human babies and how we’ve made it this far as a species. I guess it’s the cat door cute factor.

Leave a Reply

