Prove Me Wrong!

Last week on Monday, I mentioned to the nanny that Charlotte wasn’t yet pulling herself into a sit and I was starting to feel a bit anxious about it. The nanny said she’d make sure she got lots of floor time and that they’d work on it.

When I got home on Monday, I was playing on the floor with Charlotte before dinner and she rolled over and then hoisted herself back up upright like it was no big deal and she’d been doing it forever, mom.

This past Monday, I was eating lunch with a colleague who had her baby just a few months before Charlotte was born. I asked her when her daughter started crawling because I’ve been feeling antsy about Charlotte not crawling. Her daughter was crawling at 7 months. I got more antsy.

When I got home from work on Monday, Catch came out to greet me with Charlotte in her arms and proclaimed, “Mom! We’ve been crawling!” We broke out the outlet covers in celebration.

I’m just putting all of this here as a heads up to you that on Monday next week, I am going to write a post lamenting how Charlotte doesn’t sleep through the night.

Game on, universe… Game on.

28 thoughts on “Prove Me Wrong!

  1. We just figured out that Darwin’s little buddy has been cutting his two year molars, which is why he has been crying at everything and waking up at 4am the last several days. Teething. Ruins. Everything.

  2. Heh. You sound just like me. Worrying about milestones. The difference is Simon isn’t meeting any of them. UGH. I’m convinced worrying is ruining my first year with my baby. OKAY OKAY this isn’t about me. SORRY.

    YAY CHARLOTTE! Wishing you much sleep and less worry. ❤ ❤ ❤

  3. The local attachment parent group I follow has helped me really understand normal sleep behavior in babies and adjust my expectations about sleeping through the night and such. It’s really quite normal for kids our age not to sleep through the night, especially if you aren’t willing to let them cry it out.

    Do you mind if I spam you with some links I have gotten through that group? I’m not trying to be pushy, but thought that might help. Read or don’t at your own will 🙂

    http://praeclaruspress.com/press/is-your-babys-sleep-a-problem-or-is-it-just-normal/

    http://praeclaruspress.com/press/simple-ways-to-calm-a-crying-baby-have-a-more-peaceful-nights-sleep/

    https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/moral-landscapes/201302/normal-human-infant-sleep-feeding-method-and-development

    https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/moral-landscapes/201301/baby-sleep-training-mistakes-experts-and-parents-make

    http://www.bellybelly.com.au/baby-sleep/why-does-my-baby-wake-up-when-i-put-her-down/

    Wolfie still only sleep 3 hours stretches at time, in general. We mostly co-sleep (which if I remember correctly you are either not interested in, or C doesn’t like), which helps a little, but I’m still pretty damn exhausted most of the time. So, I just keep trying to remember that this is temporary, and I will sleep again eventually.

    • C is sleeping in her crib because she hates cosleeping. We actually tried getting her to settle in bed with us again last night because teething is so bad, but she wasn’t having it. Honestly, I’d be thrilled if she was only up every 3 hours. I don’t actually expect her to sleep through the night, but she’s up every 1-2 hours, which is not healthy for her brain and development. She doesn’t get enough nighttime rest. As tired as I am, I’m more concerned about her sleep than my own. If we could get it down to every 3-4 hours, she’d be in much better shape (and so would I).

  4. M didn’t start crawling, like really crawling, until 9 or 10 months, and walking by 15 months. She had little buddies doing laps around her for MANY months before that. Don’t worry about it, and actually celebrate that you don’t have a baby to chase around the house yet! I hope K takes just as long as M did, but I’m guessing she’ll be trying to keep up with her big sister and we won’t be so lucky with keeping her immobile very long.

  5. One more thing – maybe your Charlotte is similar to M in wanting to feel like she could master something before showing the world stay she could do. When M started crawling & walking, she was a very quick study and was soon climbing & running.

Leave a Reply

