Send help

My in laws have been here since Thursday. 

Last night, my FIL used the N word* while we sat there watching drag races on TV. (OMG I spent my Saturday night watching people drive fast in 5 second intervals. I swear I have fewer brain cells today.) 

Then my MIL got so drunk that she went into our bedroom thinking it was the bathroom. We only have one bathroom and she’s been using it for days. Plus, this is not their first visit. Plus, the master bedroom and bathroom are nowhere near each other. 

My refrigerator is so full of beer that I could barely find space for a tiny bottle of breast milk. 

Save me. 

*Catch and I both let him know that we don’t talk that way in this house and it was not okay. 

25 thoughts on “Send help

  1. OMG! I am so sorry. While my stepfather doesn’t drink, he is very politically incorrect. J breathes a sigh of relief when he leaves. I hope you get some peace soon.

  2. Oh man, my inlaws have said equally horrible things in front of my kids. We were fuming when they were over one time while dd was watching Rio, and my step mother when talking to dd referred to the little Brazilian boy on the movie as some derogatory way of saying black boy. These are the same inlaws who taught her it’s appropriate to point out a person’s fat belly.

  3. Oh man. So sorry. As someone born and raised in Texas, I have extended family that uses that same word. I feel for your wife. It really sucks to come to terms with being so different (in a good way) from your family. I’m already wondering how to tell our child to basically ignore whatever she’ll hear on our future trips to Texas! While trying to still be respectful of my family. It sucks.

    • It’s so hard once your kid is involved. I spent 10 years rolling my eyes at their behavior and now that we have a baby my eye rolling isn’t enough. Now I want to hit them upside the head with their own stupid beer bottles.

  4. I’m sorry I made a comment which disappeared. This is one of those situations where the only thing you can change is how you can react to it. You won’t be able to change their (horrible) habits.
    Is allowing them to stay perpetuating some kind of permission they think they have?
    They are definitely showing you guys where their respect ends for your boundaries.
    If I were you I’d be inviting them to leave.
    P.s. when are they leaving?

  5. ?!?! I am so so sorry you have to deal with this. I just don’t know how I’d handle this kind of thing but not as well as you are. Assuming you haven’t punched anyone or ended up in jail. Just wow. Hang in there.

  6. When I first read the first paragraph, I thought “Oh, well at least there is hope…they were watching RuPaul’s Drag Race.” Then I realized you meant actual drag races. Yikes. So sorry…I know this situation ALL to well. (Wifey is from Waco, yes that Waco.)

Leave a Reply

