3 Months

Charlotte was 3 months old a few days ago. 3 months! Now I really want to stop the clock.   
This little girl is absolutely the light of our lives (and the center of our universe). She is growing in leaps and bounds. We can barely keep up! 
  
Month three has brought so much awareness of her surroundings. She wants to be sitting up looking around at all times. No being cradled for this kid. If she can’t see, she is MAD. 
  

We got in trouble at the doctor because her head and neck control wasn’t where it should be. Problem is this kid detests tummy time. She will scream 30 seconds after we put her down. The pediatrician wanted us to do 60 minutes of tummy time a day to catch her up. Hah. As if. 60 minutes definitely isn’t happening, but we’re doing our best and she’s really improving. Yesterday I got about 5 straight minutes out of her before the screaming commenced. I have no doubt that she’ll get there in her own time as long as we keep trying. I’m not going to make myself sick over it. 

  
Her first round of shots happened a few weeks ago. That was hard to watch! My poor little boo. I’m not ashamed to say that I cried a bit. She was pretty hysterical, but we calmed her down reasonably quickly with her pacifier and a bit of nursing. 

  
She had very little trouble from her shots. She was pretty sad/fussy/sleepy until early evening and then she suddenly perked up and was happy as a clam. No fever at all, and she was fine the next day. We never had to break out the Tylenol. I was really grateful that it was a reasonably painless event compared to what it could have been. 

  
 

In the last two weeks, she’s started grabbing things. I love it. She grabs her toys and immediately tries to get them into her mouth. EVERYTHING goes straight to her mouth these days. She almost always has either a fist or her pacifier locked in her lips. 

  
 The drool has started and it is INSANE. I just ordered some cute bandana bibs because she’s constantly soaking wet and I’m finding that I hate regular bibs. 

  
Feeding has been–well, it’s going. Let’s just say that. It probably deserves its own update. Things are on an upswing, fortunately, but we had a couple of rough weeks where I doubted my ability to continue at all. (After all that work!) I can’t say enough about having access to a good lactation consultant that you trust. That support is invaluable. I saw mine on Monday and I left there feeling like a weight had been lifted. C will have a weight check on Friday, and with any luck that will give me even more peace. 

  
I go back to work on November 16th. I am dreading it. I have a total mental block about it. I don’t know how I’m going to get past that. I need to hire a nanny (like yesterday) and I have so much anxiety that I can’t even return phone calls. I think about it and I just shut down. This is so hard. I never imagined that I wouldn’t be happy to get back to work, but I don’t miss it one bit. I miss my colleagues, but that’s more of a social thing. If there was any way I could stay home, I would do it in a heartbeat. 

  
Aside from some breastfeeding stress and my back-to-work anxiety, I’ve been doing so much better. I feel like I’ve finally got the hang of this mom gig. My hormones have settled down a bit, and things are generally just better. Especially since I stopped pumping during the day. I have so much more freedom now. It’s not so hard to leave the house. 
  
Every week, she is more fun. I love watching her little personality develop. Sometimes I find myself pining for the days when she was tiny, but these days are just so much more fun. I wish I could bottle it all up. 

   
 

20 thoughts on “3 Months

  1. Reading about Charlotte really makes me miss the baby stage so, SO much. It’s obvious how loved she is and how delightful she is. I wish I could hang out with you guys to get my baby fix!

  2. She’s adorable! Honestly, even with a reasonable supply I worry all the time that my supply is going to dry up when I have an off pumping day at work. I’m happy that I’ve made it 9 months and things are going ok so far. Just remember that you can introduce food to her at 6 months (or 5.5 like we did) and that will start to reduce the milk needed as she gets better at eating. At this point I need a few ounces less than at 6 months which helps a lot since I almost never get the amount I need pumping at work.

    I just thought of this. What if you put on some baby einstein or something during tummy time so she has to lift her head to watch it? It might get you more time. Also, tummy time doesn’t have to be on the floor. Putting her on your stomach or chest is often more fun and does the same for the muscles. šŸ™‚

    • Breastfeeding is definitely as much mental as it is physical. I’m worried about what will happen when I go back to work, but all I can do is take it one day at a time.

      We don’t do all of her tummy time on the floor, but the doctor considers the other methods cheating. She’s much happier on us or with the boppy, so that helps me out. It’s certainly better than nothing!

      • Doctors have a lot of ideas. And most of them are just opinions, not fact based. Do what works for you guys in the end.

        What has helped me somewhat is having one of her blankets with so it’s got her energy and smell. (We have two of her favorite blankets, and I bring it back and forth). Plus, Doing things to destress during pumping. I’m working on meditation during, or watching hulu so I am laughing. And if I need to, I pump at home before bed. Many people pump in the morning. I’m unwilling to get up early enough for that. šŸ˜‰ Just do your best either way. Focus on the nanny. lol

      • Don’t tell the doctor.
        You on your back, baby on her tummy counts…. though you shouldn’t do it for 100% of her tummy time. Being down on the floor in front of her and letting her using the poppy pillow also counts, same not 100% of time still applies. She does need to practice without aids as well but…. Really 100% True Confessions with the doctor on this topic at this age….. not needed if doc is using the word ‘cheating’.

  3. Thank you so much for sharing your sweet baby with us šŸ™‚ I’m flashing back to a year ago and feeling a lot of sweet nostalgia when I read your updates! If it helps confirm your feeling, we did almost all of Darwin’s tummy time on our chests until she was about 5 months old and she did just fine. Sometimes I think we should print out cards to hand to doctors that say “range of normal!” šŸ˜‰

    Also, congratulations! You’ve made it through the 4th trimester! I think that means some kind of level up or something…

  4. Waiiiiiit is this my post or yours? Can’t believe how similar our babes are! Even down to hating tummy time! By the way…have you considered a chiro assessment for Charlotte?

  5. Our babies aren’t little tiny newborns anymore! It’s sad how quickly it has gone, before we know it they will be teenagers and we will be wishing for this stage to be back. Lol! She’s just so adorable. I love her cheeky smiles. She looks so happy. X

  6. Charlotte is SO CUTE. She definitely has an up to no good twinkle in her eye!
    Baby wearing tummy to tummy also counts as tummy time, so consider that as well! And I have gotten good at the nod and smile move at the doc. Take what works, leave the rest! Doctors deal with medicine, not parenting, and often have just been saying the same thing for 20 years regardless of evidence or APA recommendations!
    As for pumping at work, it is definitely a mind game. The best thing anyone ever said to me was to not try and pump a certain amount, but just pump frequently (I am every 2 hours) and whatever you get, baby eats the next day. It has worked for us for almost five months now! I pump 9-13 oz a day, so he eats that. It’s easier now with solids, but our caretakers just adjusted and it’s been fine! Bring pictures and video, use heat (I love my boobie tubes from earth mama angel baby), a onesie she wears, and know you’re gonna pump exactly what you need to!

  7. I’m surprised the doctor said 60 minutes a day of tummy time. That seems like a lot for a 12 week old. We were told about 3 minutes intervals about 10 times a day, which adds up to 30 minutes. And when they are on your chest, or on the bed, on the boppy, they start to get a little more neck control and build muscle that way. Each dr. is different I suppose.
    And that pumpkin patch picture of Charlotte is just the best! She sounds like a such an awesome little baby.

  8. hahaha – I like the property guys, too! We don’t have cable so when I go to other people’s houses I manoeuver things so it’s on. Evil, I know.

    Charlotte is looking so good – happy and vibrant. I speak as a complete novice/non mom etc but this tummy time mania seems like a modern way to guilt moms. I have to yet to meet anyone who lays around all day because there parents didn’t make them sit for 60 minutes a day in a bumbo or lay down on a play mat…. I am fully prepared to eat my words and tsk myself in 1 years’ time when I start blogging obsessively about tummy time, but I’m willing to live with that risk…..

  9. I read a suggestion about using a Swiss/exercise ball for tummy time – you lay them over it and hold onto them and rock them backwards and forwards so they are able to look around. Our boy loved it. Also tummy time on his change table was awesome as he can see stuff. I used to drive him around the house on ours, looking in the pantry etc lol.

Leave a Reply

