The Boob Chronicles

My magic non-FDA approved pills arrived from the sketchy overseas pharmacy on Thursday last week. I immediately started taking the dose recommended by the lactation consultant who first suggested it: 20 mg (two pills) every 6 hours. (Keep in mind that I am not a small person.)

We’re only 4 days in, but I’m already seeing a difference. It’s not dramatic–I have not turned into a breast milk fountain overnight–but it’s absolutely an improvement. I’m pumping about an extra half ounce most of the time, and two days in a row my 2 am pump has yielded a full extra ounce (!). It adds up when you consider that I’m pumping between 5 and 7 times a day depending on how my day goes with Charlotte. If I can’t pump, she’ll nurse but she is not a very efficient nurser–another story for another day. 

That’s the up side to the Dom. The down side is the headaches. The last few days I’ve had some brutal headaches. In fact, I have one right now and I regret taking a measly two Advil–I should have gone straight for the big stuff left from my recovery from Charlotte’s birth. 

I have read that the headaches are temporary or that they’ll go away if the dose is lowered. I’m hesitant to lower my dose just yet, so I’m hoping my body will adjust and the headaches will stop.

I’ve also had some dry mouth, but that’s certainly not a deal breaker. 

If you had told me 5 weeks ago that I’d still be doing this breastfeeding dance, I wouldn’t have believed you. I’m pretty proud of myself for sticking with it. It’s still pretty exhausting, but I’m no longer daydreaming about quitting. In fact, I really can’t imagine quitting now. It’s worth it just to be able to see this little drama queen’s antics when she’s done nursing. 

 
  


PS I can’t even tell you how much I love my Spectra pump. The freedom the rechargeable battery gives me is the best. I can take that thing anywhere. It’s wonderful. 
   

 

29 thoughts on “The Boob Chronicles

  1. I’ve heard about this special Dom (sounds like the champagne right?) at The Pump Station and I’m impressed that you went for it. It’s some ridiculous reason that it’s no longer available in the U.S., I think it had the wrong effect on person who had a very specialized illness. Also I can’t believe you have leftover pain pills! – my vagina still aches. I hope the headache goes away. I’m sure the heat doesn’t help. Love to Charlotte!

    • Ladies! I was also trying to find you two and add you to my new blog. Super crappy, I lost all of my bloggers by making the switch to private. Anyhow, send me your email or username. I tried the santosha123 but it didn’t work.

    • Oh man, I’m glad I’m not the only one with an achey vagina! It still hurts to cough or sneeze–or even if I’m just standing for too long. Hope you & Gia are doing well!

  2. I am glad things are looking up on your breastfeeding journey. You really should be so proud of yourself for being so dedicated and pushing through! Watching your milk drunk baby sleep is probably so worth it, eh?

  3. I’m so glad to hear that things are getting better in the breastfeeding department for you. The pills sound like they are really helping and I’m interested to see how they continue to work! I’m sure things will only get better from here. It sucks about the side effects though. But like you said, hopefully your body will adjust and everything will be fine. You should be so proud of yourself. You have stuck through a massive challenge and look at what you have achieved!
    Also, oh my gosh, she is just the epitome of cuteness. Absolutely beautiful. She looks so content and happy- YOU have done that to her. What an amazing achievement šŸ™‚

  4. She looks milk drunk in the last photo! I loved my milk drunk photos of the boys. I rolled over laughing about your sketchy over seas pharmacy….only because I’ve been there. I once ordered a overseas prescription, it arrived from Delhi, India. It looked like a scratched up pill wrapped in a piece of paper. I couldn’t figure out how the hell it passed through customs. Lol I’m so happy breastfeeding is working for you! That’s such a huge accomplishment. You should be so proud. It really is a lot of work. I still want to add you to my new blog. Send me your email pleaseeee:)

  5. So glad to read this. Are you drinking lots of water? I get headaches if I don’t while taking the Dom. I’m sure you’ve thought of this but ask just in case it hasn’t occurred to you and to let you know you’re not alone. Charlotte looks delighted!

  6. Oh milk drunk baby makes me smile so big! Glad to hear the meds are working (and extra 1/2-1 ounce in just a few days, that’s fabulous!), but so very sorry to hear about the headaches. Mostly glad to hear that you’re feeling better about nursing, because really, that can make all the difference in the world.

  7. Oh man, it’s the best when they have milk all over their faces. My dream came true! I’m so glad the dom is working and you’re feeling better about breastfeeding!

  8. Is it domperidone that you’re referring to? I heard that it’s not FDA approved for lactation in the States, but here in Canada I see prescriptions for it ALL the time! It’s FDA approved here, so don’t worry, it’s perfectly safe! Glad to see it’s working for you!

  9. The Domperidone gave me the worst headaches you can imagine. I’ve never had a migraine in my life, but I can only imagine that that was what they felt like. I was taking 40mg 4x’s a day! Glad to hear that you are producing more milk! that’s great news!!! I bet Charlotte loves it!

    • Wow, you were on a really high dose! I am all too familiar with migraines, unfortunately. I increased my water dramatically today and it seems to have helped. I’ve been headache free all day. I’m just glad something is working!

    • I spent $72 on 300 pills and I’m taking 8 pills a day. It’s not exactly cheap, but it’s about what I was spending on all of the supplements I’ve been taking.

  10. Pingback: The End of the Road: Some Thoughts on Breastfeeding and Postpartum Care | Hound Mamas

Leave a Reply

