Weeks 3 & 4

I wrote a 3-week update last week and then our internet died and my update was stuck on my computer until we replaced our router. Since she turned 4 weeks yesterday, I’m going to do a combined post for weeks 3 & 4. 

———

Week 3

Charlotte is 3 weeks old today.

charlotte_3_weeks

It’s been a crazy week with this little one, courtesy of the 3-week growth spurt. On Friday, sleep suddenly became the exception rather than the norm, and our happy, easy going newborn suddenly turned into a hangry, hangry hippo.

Fortunately, things have improved dramatically the last two days. In fact, she is sleeping peacefully on her other mama as I write this.

We had a pediatrician appointment yesterday, where we learned that our tiny little squish is actually not so tiny. She’s measuring in the 98th percentile for height, and weighed in at 9 lbs, 10 oz. She is perfectly healthy, and is clearly thriving.

We have totally kissed her newborn wardrobe goodbye. None of the newborn clothes with feet in them ever even saw the light of day. This kid is ALL legs (and feet–she has huge feet!). Even the 3 month footy pajamas are fitting snug lengthwise.

IMG_9295

We’ve started joining Catch and the dogs on walks in the evening. I’m slowly testing the waters with baby wearing. I started out with a mei tai carrier that we received as a shower gift. It was okay, but I ended up ordering a Moby wrap on Amazon at the recommendation of our lactation consultant. I really love the Moby. The mei tai hurt my back a bit after a few blocks, but the Moby has been totally comfortable.

IMG_9360

IMG_9363

The only catch with baby wearing is that I’m constantly afraid I’m going to trip and fall. It would be really nice if that fear could become a thing of the past, because the wrap puts her to sleep in minutes. I’d like to use it a lot more without the mental pictures my anxious mind provides when strolling uneven concrete.

DSC_0233

My milk supply is still a challenge, although it has actually improved. We’re now doing about 1/3 breast milk and 2/3 formula. Plus, Charlotte will nurse without needing the tube/syringe. It’s just her and me and the godsend that is the nipple shield. I still have to give her a bottle afterward, but we are both thoroughly enjoying her time on the boob. I love that we’re finding a way to make it work. Pumping is tiresome, but it’s so much easier now that my emotions have leveled out a bit.

————

Week 4

char 4ablog

We hit 4 weeks yesterday, and as usual, I can’t believe how the days are just flying by. I wish she could stay tiny forever, but this little munchkin just keeps growing and growing.

This week has had its challenges. My poor little monkey is having some real struggles with gas. Her tummy gets hard and she gets so upset. Eventually the burps and farts will come–loud enough to be heard throughout the house! We’ve tried gripe water and gas drops, but nothing is really helping. Evening is the absolute worst. I started to eliminate dairy from my diet yesterday, so it’ll be some time before we see whether that helps. She’s already on sensitive tummy formula, so I don’t know if it’s worth it to change that yet. My gut is telling me it’s the breastmilk that’s doing us in. Everything else related to my body and this baby girl has been a challenge, so why should my milk be any different, right?

We also seem to have a bit of a case of cradle cap on our hands. My poor baby lost all of the hair on the front of her head, leaving her with a hairline that resembles a balding old man. All of the skin in that area is scaly, rough, and dry. I really hope it doesn’t stay like this for months like some of the things I’ve read online indicate. I don’t care about the bald spot, but the dry skin is just awful. It can’t be comfortable.

We toured a day care center this week. It’s expensive, but close to home and a beautiful facility. They have one available spot for exactly when we need it. The director even gave Charlotte a bottle as she answered our questions. When we got in the car, I started to cry. Then Catch started to cry. We spent a good portion of the next several days trying to figure out how one of us could stay home, but it’s just impossible. After some further discussion with my parents, we’ve decided to explore the possibility of a part-time nanny. There’s no way we can afford it on our own, but my mom is offering to help. We’ll see what happens. Right now, I just can’t stand the thought of leaving our 3-month old baby in a big day care center.

I will leave you with some outtakes from this week’s photo:

char4bblog

char4dblog

(I’m picturing her slurring, “Aaand another thing…!”)

char4cblog

This kid. Every time I think I couldn’t possibly love her any more, I do.

10 thoughts on “Weeks 3 & 4

  1. It sounds like she is doing really well. I know exactly how you feel about the gas, before I put Scarlett on gas drops she had terrible stomach pains from it. I feel terrible for Charlotte that the drops aren’t working! Hopefully you get down to the cause of the problem soon. She is just so cute! I (still) love her cheeks!!!

  2. 1) I get your fear of falling with her. For the first 3 months anytime I took his anywhere I spent the whole time driving thinking about how I couldn’t drop him when I got him out of the car. I didn’t and neither will you. 2) Gus still has some cradle cap but after a while the hair grows in fine and it’s not really noticeable. It doesn’t bother him at all. 3) I feel you so much on day care. 4) I had to be dairy free- if that does the trick and you want to talk more about it let me know. 5) I love her.

  3. The photos of her make me want another baby so badly! She is just the sweetest little thing. Hope she’s leveling out again after the growth spurt. I was totally anxious about falling with the baby, but it’s so very unlikely. Coconut oil is great for cradle cap. As is a soft brush. Sprout lost all her long gorgeous birth hair except for a mohawk. She rocked it though, as I’m sure Charlotte is rocking her old man do.

  4. When I saw that picture of Charlotte, the first thing i thought was, “WHYYYY I aughttaaaaaa!!!”… So darn cute!!! The falling with the baby thing, ALL the Time! Even now, walking down the stairs (our elevator is out and we live on the third floor) i envision myself falling down 3 flights of stairs with Noah in the carseat! It’s always scary, but it hasn’t happened, and chances are it won’t. I’ll be honest about one thing with Daycare. I was a daycare teacher for over 10 years, and I absolutely LOVED the children that I had in my care. Sometimes, I feel like I took better care of them than I did myself! Go with your gut. If your gut says, this lady is not good, then trust that. But there are more teachers out there that will love your kids than not. Truly, truly love them. It breaks your heart to send your kid to daycare, but really, it’s great for them. Nanny’s are great too, don’t get me wrong, but so many kids thrive at daycare. If it’s only part time, it may be really good for her.

  5. So cute! Childcare is hard. I didn’t realize I wanted to stay home until M was born, but it making it work would have been really really hard. I hope you can come up with something you feel comfortable with. We have a nanny and love it.

Leave a Reply

