Week 39

I figured maternity leave would have provided me an abundance of time to sit down and write, but so far that just hasn’t happened.  Thank you so much for your comments on my last few posts. I apologize for not taking the time to respond to everyone! The days are just getting away from me.

We have made really great progress getting the house more settled in the last 10 days or so. We finally have living room furniture, there’s some art on the walls, and the best part–the nursery is almost finished! Yay! The closet, cabinet and bedroom doors are all still being sanded and painted, but the room is totally functional without them, so I’m calling it good enough. I’ll do another post with pictures because I really love how it all came together.

I am currently making my way through week 39 of pregnancy, and I am feeling every last moment of these 39 weeks. I have absolutely nothing exciting to report. No painful contractions, no dramatic loss of a mucous plug… just a string of very uncomfortable days. Some days I have tons of energy, and some days I have very little. Yesterday, I woke up feeling fantastic. Today, I woke up feeling like a slug. Poor Catch never really knows what she’s going to get.

At my OB appointment last week on Tuesday, I was almost 1.5 cm dilated and she said I was 80% effaced. Today, I was 3 cm dilated and 70% effaced. I’ll cut her some slack on her over-estimation of last week’s effacement… hopefully she wasn’t exaggerating the dilation today! She was very pleased to see some progression, but it could be pretty meaningless. We still have no clue whether it will be hours, days or weeks. (Please, please, please let it be the first two.)

I will say this about cervical exams: it pays to have a doctor with tiny hands. Man do those things hurt. Today was exceptionally painful as she did a stretch and sweep while she was down there. Not fun. At all. BUT, she did say that I’m pretty tough because she was really rough with me and I didn’t make her stop. Why does it feel like such a compliment to have your OB tell you you’re tough when she’s got her hand far enough into your vagina that she can feel your unborn child’s head?

(Notes from the stretch & sweep: Lots of cramps and bleeding in the hours after, but it’s been about 8 hours now and things are feeling reasonably normal at this point.)

I have really mixed feelings about everything right now. There’s a huge part of me that is just SO READY to meet our baby… but there’s an equally huge part of me that is terrified. Labor scares me. Parenting a tiny human scares me. Thinking of how our lives are about to change really scares me. I’m honestly doing my best to just stop thinking. It seems to work better that way.

So, baby watch continues. We would REALLY love for her to come tomorrow while my OB has a 24 hour shift at our hospital (otherwise, we get whatever doctor is on call), but I’m not holding my breath at this point. I honestly have a feeling it’s going to be another week.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have an exercise ball to go bounce myself to death on.

19 thoughts on “Week 39

  1. I can’t wait for pictures of the nursery!! I love love love seeing them! 🙂
    Also, I think in this instance I’m very lucky to have a male doctor! My stretch and sweep didn’t hurt too much, it was more uncomfortable. I’m getting another today (hopefully!) so I’ll see how it is this time, but I have heard male doctors are more gentle because they don’t have a vagina and can’t sympathise with the pain. I hope you’re feeling better now! Also, just so you know, I had bleeding for three days after my last sweep so if you have continued bleeding, don’t freak out. I did, but it was all good 🙂
    Good luck lovely! Hopefully everything moves along and you’ll have a gorgeous little baby soon! Can’t wait to hear about it! 🙂 x

  2. I was sure you had been quiet ‘cos you’d had your baby already! Bummer! Crazy. We spend half the time trying to keep these babies in, then the little buggers refuse to come out!

    • It’s so funny how that works. You spent allllll those weeks begging baby to stay in there and then suddenly a switch flips and the welcome mat becomes an eviction notice!

  3. Yup, it’s terrifying, but obsessing will do you no good whatsoever. 🙂
    It won’t prepare you for these experiences that will be unlike anything you’ve experienced before and it certainly won’t change the outcomes. Let’s hear it for Team Not Thinking. You’ll be great!

  4. I’m so excited that your home is coming together so well. I can’t wait to see pictures. The OB cervical checks sound just yuck! I’m sure you’re a tougher cookie than you give yourself credit for. I hope everything goes well during the last little bit before your little one arrives!

  5. It’s exciting that you got a stretch and sweep! That could possibly set things in motion, esp since you’re pretty dilated. Of course, you’re right, could be another week. Right before I read this I was explaining the stretch and sweep to J and asking her if she wants me to get one. It’s funny how you could have your ‘normal life’ for another week, or tomorrow your whole world could change forever. So weird. I hope you get your doctor’s shift! We love both Kaiser Sunset midwives and they’re there alternatively Amin-Fri from 8-5, so we’re hoping to push during business hours 😉 Sending you guys lots of luck and positive thoughts!

  6. My one piece of unsolicited labor advice: soup stock. Chug it down on the way to the hospital. You’ll have to stop eating but those extra calories will help for the marathon ahead. You are going to do great!

  7. I was wondering what the update was! I hope that you are able to let go of some of the fears you are holding on to. It’s really hard to accept and embrace the unknown, but you got through a lot just on the road to pregnancy, your strength and resiliency will carry over into childbirth and parenthood. None of us knew what we were doing and survived those first 8 weeks. Not sure how, but I did and you will rock it too.

    • I keep reminding myself that women have been doing this (and surviving) for a very long time! I’m just ready to stop thinking about it and start doing it!

  8. I hope you don’t have to wait too much longer for baby to arrive! I’m glad the house is coming together too, as I have no doubt it will be nice to not be stressing out over it when baby comes. I’m so looking forward to your post about baby’s arrival. 🙂

  9. The thought of labor was scary for me but actual labor didn’t seem so bad. There’s a good possibility I blocked out most of it though :). Hope all your bouncing works and you have a safe and quick delivery!

Leave a Reply

