Long Story Short

I had a blog many years ago (12, maybe? something like that)–before I even met Catch. I made a blog friend back then. Carly. When I stopped blogging, we became Facebook friends. 

I have watched over the years as she married an amazing man and gave birth to two beautiful little redheaded daughters. I looked forward to the day I’d have my own little redheaded daughter so we could compare notes. 

I got word last Friday through Facebook that Carly passed away very suddenly. She was 35. Her daughters just celebrated their first and fourth birthdays. 

I could say a lot about Carly. She was truly a beautiful person. Mostly though, all I can think about this week is those two tiny little girls who will never see their mother again. I am heartbroken for them, and for their father. 

Carly’s blog was called Long Story Short. Just like her life–a long story cut way, way too short. 

I am wishing their entire family much comfort and peace as they prepare to memorialize Carly tomorrow. Sometimes, the universe just takes my breath away in all of the worst possible ways. 

22 thoughts on “Long Story Short

  1. I’m so sorry. I know this feeling. When my wife’s cousin died last year at 28, with an 8 year old step daughter and 2 year old daughter. An aneurysm. It’s just a kick to the gut. What we have to remind ourselves is that everyone dies when they should. It’s part of our soul plan/contract. It’s part of her kids contract to have a mother die when they are little. It’s part of her husband’s to raise these girls on his own. It’s scary, and sad, and all of that, but it’s the path they chose before being born. The best thing you can do, based on our experience last year, is to tell him that he can do this. He shouldn’t try to be his wife, he needs to be him and raise them the best he can by being him. He’s going to wash their hair different and cook different, but as long as their needs are met he’s going to do great.

    There are a couple books that they found helpful and read all the time afterwards. Life is like the Wind.
    http://www.amazon.com/Life-Like-Wind-Big-Hug/dp/0764167472/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1436371918&sr=8-1&keywords=Life+is+Like+the+Wind&pebp=1436371961046&perid=0YJNZRM3K0GS5BZVA0W6
    There are other good books about grief for kids but this one we know helped them.

    Take care of yourself.

    • I agree with you about it being part of a contract. I lost my dad when I was very little, and I have come to understand that this was something I “signed up” for before I was ever born. It’s hard to tell someone that in the thick of their grief sometimes, though.

      • Yes, it is. It’s easier for those a little farther from the immediate family, which is why I mention it. Even with all that we know and experience, we still had a hard time with our death. It seems to be a bit easier on the littlest ones though. but that’s probably kid dependent. I can’t imagine losing a parent. I’m certain that if you reach out for your father, you will connect with him, even if you can’t feel him. I’m glad you’ve found some peace with it.

  2. I am so sorry for the loss of your friend, but mostly sorry for the loss her two little girls are living through. I lost my dad when I was 6 and my sister was 3. It affected me in so many profound ways. A little girl should never have to grow up without her mom. 😦 I am heartbroken for those girls.

  3. I am so sorry to hear of this. Makes me very sad for her children.
    I still am amazed at the connection you develop with fellow bloggers. It is almost as if you are real life friends who hang out. I know I am genuinely concerned and care about several people I only know through here (your family included).

  4. Oh, how awful. I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve lost a friend, and like you said, those two little girls have lost their mother way too soon. Prayers for the family. Life is so unfair.

  5. I’m so sorry for your loss. It sounds like Carly made an impact on you and many others, as I’m sure you’ve made a positive impact on her. I’m thinking of her two kids and family. What an awful thing to lose a mother so young.

  6. Thank you for your kind words. Carly was a part of my family. We are all reeling from this terrible loss.. I didn’t know Carly was a blogger and would love to see her blog if it still exists..

Leave a Reply

