Week 37

My 37th week of pregnancy started like this… 

 

I can’t even believe I’m posting this picture, but I feel like you guys deserve to see the real me these days. Flabby, multi-chinned, and totally exhausted. 

Fortunately, my 37th week of pregnancy ended like this…

 

With my last day of work. Maternity leave has started! I could not be happier. (Although I still wasn’t happy enough to dry my hair or put on makeup, but at least I’m upright in my “last day of work” photo–it’s an improvement.)

We kicked off our twice-weekly non-stress tests this week, and everything has been looking great. Baby girl seems perfectly content to sit there and do her thing. 

   
 (I swear my wife told me to give her the finger in this photo. Honest.)

Contractions (BH or otherwise) have been pretty non-existent. I think this little girl intends to stay put for a while.  I’m okay with that as long as she doesn’t get too carried away. I’m pretty sure I won’t survive too far beyond 40 weeks. 

The nursery is still being painted, but it looks like we might be able to move furniture in on Saturday. I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I am about that! I will feel so much better when her dresser isn’t in the living room and her crib is out of the box and assembled. I need some order so badly. 

This weekend is going to be all about finding the order in all of this chaos. We are going to order our couch and the bed for the guest room tomorrow. Baby’s room will start being put together on Saturday. Then I’m determined to get some of our art out of boxes and onto the walls. The house is going to feel like a freaking home by Monday or else!

PS… Car seats. Why are they so damn complicated??? Is it just me? I felt like a total idiot trying to figure out how to adjust the straps and release the damn thing from the base. The instruction manual comes in about 10 languages, but it doesn’t appear that any of them are pregnancy brain friendly. 

16 thoughts on “Week 37

  1. If you take it to a fire station (I think?) they’ll put it in correctly for you. I know there are places where they will do that for you, in the name of public safety. :-/ Not sure how helpful that is… when I can’t figure something out I tend to just google “youtube installation XYZ” for whatever I need.

  2. I love the photos! Congrats on finishing up work. I hope that you can get things organized at home so that you can relax and put your feet up. Glad baby girl is doing great. Have you ever asked your mom if you and your sibs were on time/early/overdue? I’m always curious if this kind of thing runs in the family.

  3. Yay mat leave! It hasn’t sunk in yet but when we don’t have to get up and get dressed Monday morning, it sure will! You look great and I love the morning pic. Your snoogle cover is cute. But not as cute as your dog 🙂 Anyway, congrats, enjoy the weekend and the baby!

  4. The highlight of that photo was the fact that you and the dog are laying in the same position. 🙂 Hope the next few weeks are enjoyable for you. Can’t wait for your little one’s arrival.

  5. Car seats are hard!!!! If you have a friend who has one and can help you out, I suggest an in person demonstration!

  6. You are so close! Yay! I totally agree re: the car seat instructions. WHY don’t they make it easier?!?!

  7. I’m already counting down the days until leave. I’m so exhausted! But you look refreshed in your second picture, and you and the pup sleep the same…it’s pretty funny! The car seats aren’t THAT bad after installing them about 5 times, so hang in there! LOL!

Leave a Reply

