Escrow Day 2 / Pregnancy Day 201

First, a baby update:

I am 28 weeks 5 days today. I saw my OB this morning and she skipped into the room making exclamations over how impressed she is with my health. My blood sugar is perfect. My iron level is perfect. My weight is perfect. My blood pressure is perfect. She is a happy doctor.

Baby girl is also perfect. Based on last week’s ultrasound, she is measuring in the 54th percentile, and doc says she’s about 2.5-3 lbs at this point. Her heart rate was in the 150s, and as usual, she moved away from the doppler as soon as she felt it there. She’s still transverse, but doc has promised me that we will get her into the appropriate position before birth. Right now, her head is in my left hip and her feet are wedged between my right hip and my ribs. The rib kicks were new this week, and I have to say that I actually prefer bladder kicks to rib kicks.

And a house update:

It turns out that buying a house is pretty stressful. Who knew? (Aside from everyone who has ever purchased a house.) Yesterday, I was fairly certain that my heart AND my brain were going to explode, but things are a bit more settled today.

Since our escrow length is contingent upon our sellers finding their new house, we could be moving anytime between the first and last weeks of June. They made an offer on a house a few days ago, and if they get it, we could start the 30-day clock as soon as tomorrow. If they don’t get it, they have until May 19th to find a place. Naturally, I am hoping that their offer goes through. I would LOVE to not be moving when I’m 37 weeks pregnant. But this “easy going and flexible” angle was what helped us get our offer to the top of the pile, so it’s worth it.

I have no idea what we did to get so lucky this week, but here’s a peek at our future house. These are photos from the listing. I am over the moon thrilled that we are going to have a dishwasher AND central air before baby girl’s arrival. It feels like we won the lottery. A really expensive lottery that we will be paying for over the next 30 years.

IMG_7604

46 thoughts on “Escrow Day 2 / Pregnancy Day 201

    • I’ve been getting happy weepy all week thinking about bringing our brand new baby home to our brand new house. It’s so awesome. But then I get sad weepy that we’re NOT bringing baby home to our current home, which I really do love. There’s no pleasing me these days!

  1. I love your new home! I can’t wait to see how you furnish it to make it yours. I couldn’t survive the summer without central a/c! I’m glad you two got this big “to do” off your list.

    • The two of us have spent HOURS on pinterest this week decorating this house. It’s hilarious because a) we are going to be broke by the time we move in, and b) baby will be here so soon that I have a feeling the house is going to be half-empty for a long time before we get around to our pinterest plans. 🙂 We’ll make it our own someday. lol

  2. So happy you and baby are doing so well!! A happy doctor hopefully means a few happy mommies!! 🙂
    And seriously, that house is adorable! I love the bright colours! I am ecstatic that it is going to be your home!!

    • Thanks! It’s funny, because obviously a house is WAY more than the color of paint on the walls, but I have to say–I really do love the color in this place. It makes me love it that much more. Although at some point the yellow on the outside will have to go. I am not a yellow house kind of person. 🙂

  3. Gorgeous home! I’m so thrilled you got it before the baby comes. And great news re you and baby! Sounds like your little one is mirroring the position mine was in – and head on the left is a good sign at this point anyway 🙂

    • Thanks! I definitely feel like she’s going to turn–I don’t think this will be an issue for too much longer. I just really want her feet out from under my rib cage!

    • It really is crazy. I knew it would be stressful, but it kind of feels like all of the anxiety of IVF all over again. I hope you guys are successful!

  4. The house is adorable! Congratulations! Almost 29 weeks and finally you can plan to settle into your new home just in time. Awesome. I had a big bladder kick today in a meeting but I don’t think I’ve had a rib kick yet. Something to look forward to!

    • You should have seen the other places we were looking at in our budget. They ALL needed a ton of work, and I was iffy about every single neighborhood. There was one last week that had a structure in the back yard that looked like something you would see on the news when they find a bunch of girls who have been kidnapped and held for 10 years. Super creepy. When we saw this one, I thought for sure someone had made a mistake. I’m still kind of in shock that we got the first house we put an offer on when there were 7 other offers. It didn’t even turn into a bidding war. It feels like we defied the laws of LA real estate on this one. Maybe Glitter will stay in a position that keeps her limbs away from your ribs! It really does hurt after a while!

      • That is amazing! That house was meant to be, it’s the universe’s baby shower gift to you! She’s been kicking more in my stomach more but it’s so cute i don’t care (yet)! So happy about your house, yay!

  5. Yes buying a home can be super stressfull. We didn’t know that either until we went into a bidding war with someone who wanted what is now “our house” : )

    • Since there were 7 offers on this place, we were kind of expecting to end up in a bidding war. I’m glad we didn’t end up in one–the anxiety of that would have killed me!

      • It was crazy but in the end no one wanted to pay above asking price so we offered like $100 over with no closing cost and it was ours : )

    • I keep talking about air conditioning and Catch keeps talking about electric bills. I have a feeling this is going to be a battle! LOL

  6. I love the cheeriness of your future home! And I am very happy about all of the positive medical news. This baby was transverse until 1.5 weeks ago too (30 weeks). Rib kicks can hurt. So you’re not concerned: they feel worse as baby grows. I find myself pushing on baby’s feet to get them out of my right ribcage regularly now. Enjoy!

    • Even more painful kicks! Something to look forward to! 🙂 I was kind of hoping that when she turns it will alleviate some of that–guess not! Right now, it just feels like her feet are stuck under the bottom of my ribs on the far right. How are you feeling these days? Has the nausea been any better?

      • Yes, it is as though they like tucking their feet behind our ribs and just keeping them there isn’t it?

        I’ve been really sick all week with a respiratory bug and most days the nausea has added a double whammy but yesterday it gave me a break. I hope things are better soon. I’m tired of feeling lousy! Thank you for asking.

  7. super cute house! moving pregnant sounds awful, but a lot better than moving with a newborn, and a lot better than being 37 weeks without a/c in the summer.

    • SO, so true! And actually, I think I’m going to like moving pregnant better than I like moving when I’m not pregnant. I get to make everyone else do everything! Can’t beat that! 🙂

  8. It looks lovely! I hope you are able to move sooner rather than later. I’m super happy to hear that you and baby are doing well. 🙂

  9. We’re coming to visit! That house is the cutest thing! I could see why you were hoping and wishing that the offer would go through…it is absolutely adorable…and the backyard is awesome!!!! Baby girl is gonna love it! I know you’ll probably change it, but the color in the kitchen makes it looks like a house you would stay in on some caribbean lsland…i love that…and glad that your appointment went so well…sounds like things are pretty amazing for you you ladies right now Molly…my heart is happy for you…

    • I’m actually not going to change the kitchen paint! I freaking LOVE it. I am not a neutral sort of person. After renting for all of these years, I’m ready to have some color in my life! There’s a door in the master bedroom that leads to the back yard. They painted the inside of the door a light aqua color and I’m in love with that, too. It doesn’t match our bedroom stuff AT ALL, but I’m thinking we just might need to get new bedroom stuff because I don’t want to paint the door. LOL Also… we have a guest room!!! Maybe you need to celebrate Mary’s official adoption at Disneyland! 😉

      • I love color! We have an accent wall in every room, although Callie is all about muted tones, so we always have to find some in between that we both agree on…That color would NOT fly in our apartment, but that is my FAVORITE color…maybe I’ll show her your place and how friggin cute it looks! And we might have to take you up on that offer. We’ve been to Disney in Orlando (not with Mary though) and never been to the one in Cali! So, I’ll keep you posted on that!

  10. This is an adorable house! So happy for you guys to be able to start the next chapter of a your life there. Also yay on the healthy pregnancy. Life is looking for you 🙂

  11. Ohhhh adorable house! I’m with you on the hoping their offer gets accepted! Living in a situation right now where we are trying to renovate and move house piece by piece (as spaces get renovated and exterior walls removed is pretty stressful. I just want Boyboy’s room set up and a comfortable space to put my feet up! My poor Dad is going as fast as he can though. What city is your home in (I’ve forgotten where you live.) Its a really sweet place and I think you should share a few Pinterest ideas so we can see what you plan to do. Funnily enough we have a bright turquoise wall in our kitchen too that my dad painted. I’d usually choose to paint it out but as he did it and it would mean taking down shelves etc to repaint, it will probably stay that way.

Leave a Reply

