26 Weeks

I feel like I have a gazillion things to say, but it’s all a jumble in my head. I’m going to try to give you a bullet point update with some pictures, because the last few weeks have been a whirlwind.

  1. I passed my glucose test today! You have no idea how stressed I was about this. I know that PCOS increased my risk, but my result wasn’t even borderline. I’d like to thank my pancreas for cutting me some slack on this one. Ice cream for dinner! Actually, my wife said no to that because she said she’s gaining too much of my baby weight, but whatever. I’ll get some ice cream in there somehow.
    glucosetest
  2. At 26 weeks, baby girl supposedly weighs about 2 lbs and is about the size of a butternut squash. I love watching that tiny little hand get bigger. It’s the best.
    FullSizeRender (1)
    FullSizeRender
  3. Baby girl’s blanket is complete and I love it! In fact, I love it so much that I started another one with a gazillion different colors of leftover yarn from my pre-carpal-tunnel days when I used to sell baby hats on Etsy.
    IMG_7440
    IMG_7446
  4. Our beautiful baby book arrived from Rag & Bone Bindery with special pages for two moms.ย  I really love the page with “the story of our path to you.” I can’t wait to write that one.
    IMG_7415
  5. At my OB appointment last week, my total weight gain was 14 pounds. It is seriously hard to jump straight from weight loss mode into pregnancy. All I can think about is the 50 pounds I lost before IVF, and the scale is just messing with my head. I’m trying REALLY REALLY hard to get over it.
  6. The belly was also measured at last week’s OB visit. At 25.5 weeks, I was measuring 24.5 weeks. If I compare practically identical belly shots from 24 weeks and 26 weeks, I see no difference at all. I know I shouldn’t be complaining about this, but I just want to throw it out to the universe that it’s OK for baby girl to start really staking her claim on my midsection. Really. (And yes, I bought that Old Navy dress in every color. Shut up.)
    IMG_7464
  7. I took some much-needed vacation time last week while Catch was on spring break. We did a lot of spring cleaning & de-cluttering to try to make some room for this baby in our precious 600 square feet. Fortunately, we got word that we can start house hunting again at the end of the month! Exciting and terrifying all at once!
  8. When I returned to work this wek, I sat down with HR to discuss maternity leave. I will be able to take 16 weeks off to be with our baby girl, and I am thrilled. Most of the girls in our office only take 12, but I have enough vacation time to pad my 12 weeks and still have some extra time in the bank.
  9. Do you like lemon bars? Make these lemon bars. You will not be sorry.ย  (Note–I did not build up the crust on the sides of the pan, I just flattened it. I also didn’t bother chilling it before baking.)
    IMG_7436(1)
  10. Lastly, we are currently 95 days from my due date. Double digits. It feels fantastic.

I hope you are all in the midst of a great week!

29 thoughts on “26 Weeks

  1. I am so happy that you are doing well, and that you passed the GD test!! I totally support the ice cream dinner idea – I LOVE ice cream. ๐Ÿ™‚
    And I love your second blanket, it is already looking amazing! You are so talented, I am in awe.
    Oh, and thanks for the lemon bar recipe. Not my favourite, but Mr. MPB will love them, whenever I get around to making them.

    • Thanks so much for the kind words on the blankets! There honestly isn’t much to it… all I’m doing is wrapping knots around sticks! (And possibly also spending too much money on yarn. Don’t tell my wife!)

  2. Excellent use of dot points! Fantastic that you passed the test and yeah, ice cream seems an appropriate celebration food lol. Looooooove the baby blanket – actually made me think of Neapolitan ice cream? Is there a theme here? Glad all is well!

  3. That blanket is just beautiful! I love the other colours you’re using for blanket #2, too. I think I see a slight difference in your belly between the 2 weeks. I hope the end of your pregnancy continues to go well and the countdown to that sweet baby girl goes quickly!

  4. So happy for you passing your glucose test. I have seen first hand what failing it does so YAY YOU! Thank you for catching us up on things. 16 weeks is amazing and glad you will have that time. Enjoy it. You look great ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing.

    • I was thinking of you guys when I was waiting for my results yesterday! I hope your other half is hanging in there! She must be getting so uncomfortable!

      • Thank you so much! She is beyond uncomfortable. I am sure I am a pain in her ass right now too because every wince or little face she makes I ask are you ok is that a contraction..HA!

  5. Congrats on passing the GD test! That’s huge. I’m a bit worried that I’ll get GD because my mom had it with me. You look fabulous, and I’m glad everything is going well. I love the blanket, and think I might start knitting the same one soon too. I’m so glad you get to take 16 weeks of mat leave, that’s great! OMG let the countdown begin!

    • Hopefully you’ll avoid that particular genetic gift! After everything you went through to get here, you deserve to miss that blow entirely. I hope the interview went well the other day!

    • I am totally obsessive about that hand every week. I love comparing it to the month before. It’s amazing how fast they grow!

      Handmade baby things are totally the best. I still have baby blankets that my mom’s best friend knit for me when I was born. They’re even more special now that I understand firsthand how much work goes into them!

  6. Congrats on the GD test! Would you be able to pass along the pattern for the gorgeous blanket? I’m a novice knitter ( mostly just scarves) but some dear friends of ours are 12 weeks pregnant and I’d love to tackle a bigger kntting project for their impending baby.

    • I will warn you that the pattern takes some getting used to. It’s a lot of counting and I can’t tell you how many times I screwed up because I lost my place! You do get used to it after a bit, though. If you decide to tackle it, just take your time and don’t try to knit while you’re talking to people. ๐Ÿ™‚ The pattern is here: http://www.purlbee.com/2011/09/15/whits-knits-chevron-baby-blanket/ I used their recommended yarn for the first blanket (sooo soft and nice, but sooooooooooo expensive!!!), but I’m just using stuff I had at home for the second one.

      • I think the only thing keeping me in check is my desperate fear of being yelled at by my doctor! She is a tiny little thing and I really really like her, but I can tell I do not want to piss her off!

  7. Congrats on passing the GD test! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am glad that things are going well and that you’re able to take quite a bit of time off for maternity leave! Woo hoo!

  8. I will also leave my comments in organized, numbered points: 1. Congrats on passing the gluscose test! Whoooo! Now, go eat some ice cream! 2. I’m glad she is growing and healthy and perfect 3. Your blanket is precious and I’m jelly of your knitting skills. That’s one crafy thing I suck at. 4. You look great! Honestly. And why wouldn’t you buy that dress in every color? 5. 16 weeks off?! I hope I am able to swing that when my time comes. 6. Excuse me while I go make some lemon bars. I love citrusy-sweet desserts 7. 95 will fly by! She will be here before you know it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. That glucose test is the test I most fear taking when I decide to get pregnant (soon!) My sugar is already borderline, you know, pcos…So yay on that! That’s a biggie! 26 Weeks! Holy crap Mol, you’re like almost there! I wish i had more time to crochet. I’ve been crocheting leg warmers for the boys for roughly 3 months now…LOL! I need o get them done before they start crawling in a few months. The blanket is adorable, and the new one you are starting looks like it’;s going to be just as bad ass! 16 weeks of leave is AWESOME!!! 4 months (give or take) to bond with your baby is amazing. I had a month and it just didn’t feel like enough…and LEMON BARS!!!! I’m gonna make those this weekend!

    • I was worried about the GD test for the same reason. I got a really great test result in the first trimester, but they checked me while I was still taking metformin! I thought for sure I was going to fail this time around. Hopefully you’ll be just fine!

      I’m trying to enjoy my knitting time while I have it because I know once baby is here, my hands will be busy with other things! If nothing else, someday you’ll be able to show the boys the tiny leg warmers that you would have made for them if they had just given you a few extra moments of peace. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Catch is only going to have about a month with the baby, too. I keep hoping maybe she’ll come just a smidge early (like a week?) so Catch can have just a tiny bit more time at home with us. I know she’s going to want it.

Leave a Reply

