L & D

Hello from labor & delivery!

Don’t panic. We’re 95% sure everything is absolutely fine. 

I rear ended someone on the freeway (rush hour traffic) on my way home from work this afternoon. Not one of my finest moments as I’m sure you can imagine. 

The accident wasn’t that bad, but it was quite a jolt and I had some mild cramps afterward (probably more from the seatbelt). I called Catch sobbing and we agreed that I should hop over to urgent care just to be safe. Urgent care informed me that after 20 weeks, I need to go to L & D, so here I am. 

Baby was wiggling up a storm when I got here, but remained stubbornly still while the OB did an ultrasound. Her heart was ticking away though, so we’re not too concerned. Her placenta looks fine, too. 

They took some blood to check for any sign of either bleeding from the placenta or the baby’s blood, but I honestly expect that to be totally fine. 

Otherwise, I get to spend another hour or so being monitored for contractions and then they’ll check baby girl’s heartbeat one more time before I can go home. 

The view is lovely. 



I’ve had a talk with baby girl and she’s been reminded that it is nowhere near time for her to make an appearance. All I need from her today is some reassuring thumps and a nice strong heartbeat. 

Sigh. 

I can’t freaking believe I did this. I am so mad at myself. I wish I could have a do-over. I just want to cry. 

22 thoughts on “L & D

  1. No no, no beating yourself up. We all do it. You just happen to have done it while pregnant. 🙂 So glad you’re getting checked out. Hang in there, Mamma.

  2. The important thing is that you and baby are SAFE! Don’t beat yourself up, stupid accidents happen all the time… be strong mamma!

  3. I just knew that something had happened to you… I actually hopped on WordPress to check that you’re okay. I can’t believe that something did actually happen! I am so glad that all the signs are that you and baby are okay. Please rest x and don’t beat yourself up. They’re called ‘accidents’ for a reason.

  4. Don’t beat yourself up. Hey, it’s a bonus ultrasound and you get to listen to the heartbeat a bunch. 🙂

    At least it was a minor accident. That was on my mind every single time I drove pregnant. You just got yours out of the way without any issue. hehe

  5. Let me just say, I got the email saying that you posted and the post was ‘L & D’ and I freaked out a little! I’m so so so glad to hear that both you and your little girl are okay! Good job for going to get examined, absolutely the best decision 🙂

  6. I’ve been so paranoid about something like this happening to me. Seriously-it runs through my head all the time. It has made me freakishly cautious. I’m glad you’re almost definitely okay 🙂

  7. I’m glad you and baby girl are okay. One of my pregnant friends rear-ended a car this week (her 1 year old was in the car with her) all 3 of them were also okay. Accidents happen, your little girl is well cushioned in there. Now you’ve had a little preview of L&D, you’ll know what to expect when you go back in a few months. (I know being in L&D is no fun at this point, I had to go in at 22 weeks for a scare- it was a long night) but we do what we gotta do to make sure the babes hang on tight.

  8. Don’t beat yourself up for it these things happen and it sounds like you and little your little girl are both okay! I’m glad L&D are checking you out, there is no better place for you to be right now 🙂

  9. Oh my gosh I’m so glad you’re okay. That must have been incredibly scary. I was so nervous reading this. You sounds really good and I know baby girl will be okay. Please keep us posted.

  10. Oh Molly, I’m so glad that you and baby girl are okay. Honestly, that’s all that matters- insurance will deal with the rest. Rear-Enders are super common, so don’t beat yourself up over it. I know how stressful it is though. We were in 2 accidents last year (both not our fault), and while I hate dealing with insurance companies, it wasn’t so bad. They just collected information from me and then took care of the rest.

  11. So glad to hear that you are both okay! That’s really all that matters. We’ve all made mistakes and this one is minor, all things considered! Be gentle on yourself.

  12. So glad you and Baby Girl are ok. Don’t beat yourself up. Insurance takes care of everything and all that matters is that you and baby are ok! Cars can be fixed ❤️

  13. Eeeek – I’ve been absent and just saw this. Hope all is well. I hate driving in the city now – I’m terrified I’ll have an accident and with an anterior placenta a bad knock would be … Well let’s just say bad. X

Leave a Reply

