Jury Duty

I am stuck at the courthouse in East Los Angeles today for jury duty. I’m annoyed because they transferred me here from downtown, which meant I couldn’t just hop on the subway like I’d planned. I had to actually sit in the morning rush hour in a part of town I am totally unfamiliar with. 

I am hoping I’ll be seen as undesirable because I have an appointment with my OB next week that can’t be rescheduled because her calendar is SO full. I’m going to be pissed if I have to miss it because some idiot did something stupid & landed himself in court. I could have postponed, but it’s a 3 month postponement, which means I will be very pregnant, and I figured serving now would be the lesser of two evils. 

Anyway, the one advantage to a day in the jury room is this:



I actually started some baby knitting. It’s a hat. (Or at least it will be one eventually.) And a simple one at that, because I didn’t have time to browse patterns or be choosy about yarn as I ran out the door. I’m flying by the seat of my pants on this one. 

Still, it’s a big step. Knitting for my baby girl. I have knit for so many other babies, but never my own. It feels totally bizarre to know that this hat won’t be leaving the house in a gift bag. 

8 thoughts on “Jury Duty

    • That’s what I’m hoping for! I purposely dressed to show the belly today! Plus if they’re looking for a jury of peers, it’s pretty unlikely that a white pregnant woman is going to fit the bill in east la!

  1. I hope you don’t have jury duty with everything you’re going through! I’m so happy that you’re knitting and nesting. I know it’s hard when you don’t have a nursery yet, but you can gather stuff and have it ready. The hat is beautiful. And happy 20 weeks! Halfway there, can you believe it?

Leave a Reply

