Turning Point

It’s a drizzly day here in Los Angeles. The perfect kind of day to spend on the couch in pajamas, but that’s not in the cards for us. I have a big pot of soup on the stove for lunches for the week, and in a little while we’re headed out into the land of open houses…

Because apparently, we’re having a baby girl. For real. And we’re going to need a place to put her.

Friday’s ultrasound was transformative for me. It wasn’t the greatest experience from a procedural standpoint… They didn’t let me see anything until they were done, which was pretty anxiety-inducing and disappointing. Plus, she was pushing so hard on my belly for so long that I was really hurting. But regardless, we got to see our baby. The tech did pause for a moment halfway through to let us watch as our baby girl sucked her thumb. It’s amazing to see our little bundle of cells looking and acting like a baby. Even the tech watched with a smile on her face and said that no matter how many times she sees it, it never gets old.

Suddenly, I feel so much more connected to this pregnancy. It’s like a switch was flipped. I had been talking in ifs for so long that both Catch and my mom had run out of patience. They both gave me an earful on separate occasions last week, and I was beginning to feel like I’d never be able to see a light at the end of the tunnel.

I can see it now, though. It’s magical.

After our ultrasound, Catch and I took a deep breath and walked into Babies R Us. Our first foray into the world of baby “stuff.” We looked at everything from onesies to gliders to strollers and sort of stared in awe at the strange world in front of us.

We had intended to buy a cute little outfit to commemorate the occasion, and instead left with a chair for the nursery we don’t even have yet. How’s that for jumping in head first? I had been sitting in a little grey glider that I totally fell in love with–it was exactly what I’ve been looking for. I took a picture of the sign so we’d remember it later on and we moved on through the store. Then, all of a sudden, I was staring at my exact favorite chair in perfect condition with a big red clearance sticker on it. Someone had just returned it. The sales guy said that NEVER happens, and we took it as a sign that it was meant to be. So I got our chair and saved over $100 on it.

IMG_7053

Anyway, point being that I feel like I’ve turned a corner since Friday. We are so ridiculously excited about our baby girl. We would have been happy either way, but it feels pretty good to know that we’ve been right all along about what’s cooking in there. Plus, now we get to name her after two amazing women who we adore, and that feels like another wonderful little gift.

We celebrated our news over pizza and (pink) strawberry cupcakes with my parents, who are thrilled despite their desire for a boy. Catch’s parents have been team girl since the beginning, so my MIL is just thrilled that now she can go shopping for girly things. (God save us!)

Now, we just wait on the results of the scan, but I am choosing to believe that we have nothing to worry about. After all these weeks of endless worry, it’s time to let it go.

26 thoughts on “Turning Point

  1. It must be so nice to just let all of the “what if’s” go, and to accept the reality that in a couple of months, baby girl will be in your arms! The chair is gorgeous, and even better with $100 off! Interesting that you had a feeling she was a girl!

  2. I got goosebumps reading your experience with the ultrasound. It’s amazing how all of a sudden, you have a real BABY in there!

    And we bought that same chair. I’m so jealous you got $100 off!! It’s so comfy!! I sit and rock in it every day.

    • I love that you have the same chair! We really did get lucky. I just wish we had somewhere to put it right now so I could sit in it! It feels a bit strange to purchase a piece of furniture that I don’t have a space for. (Yet–fingers crossed!)

  3. I really sense your shift. I totally get the reservation (and being scolded about it). I am so relieved you feel more connected and hope your confidence continues to grow. This baby girl is as excited to meet you as you and Catch are to meet her.

    Love the chair too and super happy for your serendipitous savings!

  4. I know I’m pregnant and sentimental, but I’m crying again reading this. I am so happy for you that you’re in a joyous stage of letting go and embracing your baby girl. She’s real and she’s not going anywhere (except out of your belly and into your arms sometime in late July). I’m also really jealous of that glider, we’re looking at those too and you got a beautiful one and a great deal. I hope your open houses are going well today!

    I think we should try to have “coffee.” What do you think? It would be amazing to finally meet someone from my blog world. Please email me when you get a chance at santosha1203@gmail.com. Even if it’s to say you’re not into it/too busy etc. Thanks!

    • I am going to email you as soon as I have a chance! We really should meet up. I am totally on board!

      And OMG–the open houses. That was discouraging. As we were walking through the front door of one, a woman with her realtor was talking to the one hosting the open house and said, “Why are you even having an open house if you already have 7 offers?” Then her client said, “I have cash!” Ugh. Then we found one that we were IN LOVE with, and they had multiple offers already, too. This is not going to be easy!

      • Yes that house struggle sounds familiar – we’ve put in six offers since last summer and only just finally had one go through (well, still in escrow), and we were the back-up offer but the first offer fell through. What area are you looking in? It’s really discouraging but you just have to keep looking and eventually the house you’re meant to live in will come through! Good luck and keep me posted!

        Yes let’s hang out, let me know where you live and what days may work for you. I’m not very social and it feels like a huge chore to make social plans because of being pregnant so I understand. I think it would be awesome though!

  5. Ohhh yay! I think it took me till the (end of the) 20 week scan to actually believe this is actually happening! So I’m right there on how you are feeling. Then I’ve had to get my head around it being a him – which wasn’t what I’d always imagined, and I’ve had some worried about it. I’m feeling good though now and it sure feels real as he kicks me and stretches my belly! I too love that stylee as chair. We have two old school 50’s or 60’s era Lazy Boy rocking / reclining chairs that we were given by my parents for our fireside. When we move I’ll recover them and one will go in baby boy’s room. I’ve been thinking of a grey fabric, a little lighter than what you have there … But might change my mind to a darker shade now!

    • It’s interesting, because even though I was expecting them to tell me it’s a girl, I had some very unexpected feelings about her not being a boy–even though I was pretty sure I’d be disappointed if they told me it was a boy! Pregnancy has made me about as irrational as I have ever been. Now I’m finding “girl” things to worry about. I guess it’s always going to be something. As excited as I am that we get to use our girl names, I’m also pretty disappointed that we don’t get to bring home a baby in a bow tie. (How superficial can I get?!)

  6. I LOVE that chair! The land of baby stores is always so overwhelming. Even if you know what everything in the store is there is always so many choices. I have to be in the right frame of mind to enter.

  7. SO happy to hear that you are finally embracing this pregnancy. I know that the beginning was so tough for the both of you, but I can imagine how full your hearts are right now! So excited for you Molly…a little girl! We needed more girls in the blogosphere! And that chair is hella awesome! Can’t wait to see the room it goes in (eventually) LOL!

Leave a Reply

