I Miss Wine – 16w5d

I’m kind of having a bad week. Not end-of-the-world bad—just run-of-the-mill lousy. I think maybe pregnancy hormones are making me a bit less capable of coping than I might otherwise be.

First there was a summons for jury duty. Then my absolute best work buddy quit. (We’ve worked together for almost 10 years, and I feel like I lost my right arm.) Catch is sick with a horrible cold. I feel totally run down, and I can only hope it’s my body trying to fight off Catch’s cold germs. I’m not sleeping well (combination of waking up to pee and being uncomfortable). Work has been supremely lousy. The house is a mess.

I am just frustrated and sad and grouchy and tired, and I really need a break from reality. And a housekeeper. And an hour with a good book and a soy latte and some kind of bad-for-me baked good. And a massage. (I’d better stop now—I could probably go on like this for a while.)

All that said, let’s talk 16 weeks and our avocado/dill pickle baby (the apps never agree):

  • I am absolutely, positively feeling baby flutters. Only occasionally, and usually when I’m sitting or lying quietly, but still… Baby. Moving. Totally freaking amazing. (Although it’s still not enough to keep my fears at bay. I’m beginning to wonder if that’s even possible at this point.)
  • I still want curry. I found a Thai place by my office that has fantastic red curry, and it probably would have been safer if I hadn’t discovered it.
  • I ordered the Bump Nest pillow last week, but it’s not helping much at this point. I’m a stomach sleeper, and sleeping on my side has been causing neck/shoulder pain. (The neck pain actually triggered a migraine on Monday. Fun.) It’s not that the pillow isn’t great, it’s more just that training my body to sleep in a different position is awkward. I’m hoping I get used to it soon. If I do find myself sleeping on my stomach, I wake up feeling crampy and sore in my abdomen—I know I’ve gotta stop it. As long as we’re on the subject of pregnancy pillows, you know who REALLY loves my new pillow? This girl:

IMG_6969 IMG_6967

  • Dreams. I used to have weird ones when I’d have an HCG trigger or progesterone, but man… not like these. The dreams I’ve been having are just as weird, but much darker. And I’ve had two dreams this week about rivers drying up.
  • Doctors. It’s been 5 weeks, but I finally see a midwife on Monday afternoon for a physical exam. I am DYING to hear this baby’s heartbeat. Then l see the perinatologist the following Monday, and we’re hoping she’ll do a quick ultrasound. It has been too long since I’ve seen/heard this baby, and I’ve reached the point where I’m ready to go to one of those elective 3D ultrasound places just for some peace of mind. (And maybe a gender check?) Catch thinks I’m being ridiculous and that I should suck it up and wait for the perinatologist. I’m trying. But they’re open all weekend and they’re right down the street. At the same time, if something is wrong it’s not like I’m going to want to find out anywhere other than my doctor’s office. That’s what’s really keeping me from scheduling something.

Now if you’ll excuse me, it’s time to sit in traffic for a while. This is especially fantastic considering that I’ve had to pee every 30 minutes today.

13 thoughts on “I Miss Wine – 16w5d

  1. Awww your dog looks so comfy!!!! Man that pillow looks comfy! Speaking of crazy dreams… I’ve been having really crazy dreams w the progesterone too! GAWD! Enjoy your curry lol have you checked eat24 to see if someone delivers around you?

  2. That is one comfortable dog. It’s very understandable to want to see another picture of your baby. I’m sorry about your work friend, hopefully she’s got a better job now?
    Are you going to find out the sex?

  3. Also-my OB says that most of the time there are no doctors at the 3d ultrasound places, so if they found something wrong they probably wouldn’t be able to tell you much which would REALLY be awful.

    Not that anything is wrong, because I’m convinced that baby is perfect (and a girl).

  4. I agree with Barren Librarian; 3D places won’t be able to tell you if there is something wrong. They aren’t doctors. Better to save your $ and go when baby is bigger and more developed, toward the end of the 20s, when you can see baby’s facial expressions and hands!! 🙂

    Also my cat loves my pregnancy pillow! Sleeping on my side has been a nightmare. I too am a side sleeper. I wish I could say you totally get used to it…but unfortunately, right when you do, that’s when you start to feel really uncomfortable because rolling over is such a chore with a ginormous 3rd trimester belly. 😉 Hang in there.

    One more thing: anxiety and fear will never go away. Ever. 35w here and still terrified. You just learn to cope with it 90% of the time. And the other 10%…you freak out. You cry. And then baby moves and you feel better. ❤

  5. I’m sorry it’s been such a rough one. I hope things align in your favour soon. I’m a stomach sleeper too- but have found that I’m sleeping on my back more now because of the ginormous ovaries. Do the dogs sleep with you? If so, try kicking them out of bed- it might help the quality of your sleep. I hope you get to see baby on ultrasound soon- but kicks must be really nice for reassurance. Wishing you a better week next week.

  6. They say that those 3D elective ultrasounds aren’t really that safe, and über expensive so just stay away from them! It will make seeing your baby after the wait so much more exciting. Think positive thoughts friend…flutters are awesome! I remember when Callie first felt the boys move, her face lit up and she looked like she was in another place, another world. I’m glad you’re starting to be able to feel them. And that puppy is so freaking cute!

    • I think 3-d ultrasounds look kind of creepy! But I bet watching it live on the screen is a completely different experience than the pictures people post. I can definitely see the allure, but I also worried about having too many ultrasounds since I had so many due to my bleeding complications.

  7. oh I was so happy when I stopped trying to breastfeed and I was able to sleep on my stomach again. side sleeping was so painful during pregnancy, even with my pillow fort around me.

  8. oh man, my dogs LOVE my snoogle so much that every morning I have to hide it under the blankets so they won’t cuddle up in it. They totally think I got them a fabulous new bed.

Leave a Reply

