A Long, Sunny Weekend – 14w4d

First, I want to say thank you to all of you who commented on my last post.  Your words were exactly what I needed to hear, and I am so grateful.  I haven’t gone back to respond and honestly, I probably won’t—only because I’m feeling pretty good the last few days and I don’t really want to go back there at the moment.  But thank you. Infinitely.  You made me feel so much better about being sad, and that’s not an easy thing to do.

We had gorgeous weather in L.A. over the weekend, and the sunshine made it a bit easier to pull myself out of that dark place as well.  On Saturday, we celebrated our official first steps into the second trimester over breakfast and then ran a bunch of errands.  I can’t remember the last time I was so happy to be out buying dog food.  My energy is slowly starting to return, and I have days where I feel like a normal human being.  It’s amazing.

On Sunday, Catch watched the Packers lose while I took the opportunity to get myself back into the kitchen.  I made these awesome baked turkey & spinach meatballs.  (I’ve made them with kale before, too.)  The recipe is HUGE but they freeze beautifully and make a great office lunch.  I packaged them up for our lunches this week with some spaghetti squash and marinara sauce and a side of steamed broccoli.  Then, since our Meyer lemon tree is about to explode, I made the Barefoot Contessa’s recipe for lemon bars. I don’t think I need to say how good they are.  The kitchen is my domain, and it felt really good to have the energy to be back in there.

Monday was my favorite. When a day off from work coincides with a Monday, it is a beautiful thing.  We started the day with the best waffles you will ever make.  Seriously.  Smitten Kitchen knows her waffles.  (And her pie crust, in case you ever have a need.)  These have ruined me for all other waffles.  It was a beautiful day, so we piled the dogs into the car, picked up my mom and her dog, and headed to Santa Barbara to visit our favorite dog beach.  (There are dog beaches closer to us, but this one is our favorite–it’s worth the drive.) I am my absolute happiest when I’m outdoors, and the beach was medicinal.

I also wanted to let you know that I met with a neurologist yesterday at the request of the perinatologist.  My neurological exam was absolutely normal, and she really doesn’t think I have anything to be concerned about.  She did confirm for me that the headaches I’ve been getting since I got pregnant (I had one for 4 days last week) are mild migraines (yay!) and as we all know, all I can do is pop a couple of Tylenol and hope the universe takes pity.  The best part of my visit with her was that she has two kids, both of them via IVF. We chatted about everything quite a bit.  It was so nice to talk to a doctor who really gets it.  Too bad I (hopefully) won’t ever need to see her again (knock wood)!

I hope you’re all having a wonderful week.  I can’t believe it’s already Wednesday!

27 thoughts on “A Long, Sunny Weekend – 14w4d

    • I didn’t know you have bassets! I so rarely encounter basset people. How fun! I keep meaning to follow your blog and then I get side tracked and space out. I finally clicked follow just now. I will catch up when I’m not at work. Thank you so much for the support.

      • We have two and our family has a total of five combined. They are my favorite. They keep me laughing and have brought me a lot of comfort thru this journey.

      • They really are the best. I don’t know what ever possessed us to get one in the first place, but now that we have them, I can’t imagine not having a basset! We fostered bassets for a while with a basset hound rescue, and it was so much fun having different ones around. My absolute favorite was this GIGANTIC 70 lb guy named Romeo who thought he was a lap dog. I tried so hard to convince my wife to let us keep him!

      • I had a basset growing up and that’s actually the only kind of dog I’ve ever had. We help with a basset rescue here (mostly attending fund raisers) but I hope when we have a bigger place we can foster. I know your bassets will be great with your baby and I can’t wait til we have a human baby for ours to play with!

  1. Your pics made me miss CA- my sister lived in SB for awhile and I visited her several times while she was there. Gorgeous.
    Jen said recently that the thing she misses the most during the past few months is me cooking. Glad you’re getting back in the kitchen! I’m easing back in there myself.

    • I always say that if I ever win the lottery, we’re moving to Santa Barbara. So beautiful there!
      My wife would have said the same thing about me cooking! She was so excited when I started cooking again! I’m glad you’re getting back into the swing of things, too. The first trimester is rough!

      • I totally didn’t realize you had a basset mix! What a cutie!!! I love when you can look at a dog and clearly see the breeds they’re mixed with. We once saw a German Shepherd/Corgi mix while we were in a drive through line, and I almost died. It had short little corgi legs, shepherd coloring, and the most gigantic, straight up in the air ears you have ever seen.

      • Ugh-short legged dogs are THE BEST. Bonnie has just recently started limping when she first gets up, so ive started giving her glucosamine in the morning. Her poor little short dog joints 😦

      • Aww… poor baby! Rolo struggles with that, too. Especially after he has a really active day (like the dog beach). We have him on glucosamine as well. He thinks it’s a treat. 🙂 He’s been taking it for several years and it really does seem to help. When we first started, he couldn’t jump up on the bed, and after a few months of pills, suddenly he could make it up again.

    • The beach is called Arroyo Burro in Santa Barbara. When you’re walking to the beach from the (free) parking lot, you just head left and walk a ways until you get to all of the rocks. It’s best to check the times for high & low tide–the pools are the best at low tide, and the beach is almost totally inaccessible at high tide. There’s a great restaurant there, too! I think it’s called the Boathouse.

  2. Those meatballs and lemon bars sound delicious! I get a lot of joy out of cooking and baking too, so I’m glad that you’re back in your element. I love the beach pics with the dogs! I can imagine how happy the dogs were! Your bassets are adorable.

  3. Glad to hear your feeling better Molly…i was worrying about you and thinking about you and Catch lately. Your puppies are so. Damn. Cute! Happy you got the chance to enjoy the beautiful weather with all your loves. And hell yeah! Holiday mondays kick some serious ass!

Leave a Reply

