Little Victories – 12 Weeks

I have managed to eat (and enjoy) 3 meals in a row. That’s a record since this all day sickness kicked in at around 5 weeks. I can’t even begin to tell you how much I have missed enjoying food. Especially this time of year when it is EVERYWHERE. Eating had become a miserable chore that caused stress and anxiety. Normally, I am a girl who LOVES food, so it’s like I didn’t even recognize myself anymore.

I’m not saying I’m leaving morning sickness in the dust. I had a total meltdown while grocery shopping this morning because there was no food in the entire store that appealed to me. Still, it is certainly a vast improvement.

Today is my second hormone and needle-free day since I don’t know when. Huzzah! Perfect timing because I honestly couldn’t take it anymore. My entire lower back is either numb or covered in painful lumps. Goodbye PIO! I am tempted to throw what remains of you off of a bridge.

Last night, we went out. With friends! And I stayed upright and awake until we left the restaurant sometime after 10. Major progress seeing as how if you inquired about my whereabouts any other time over the last two weeks, my exasperated wife would have told you I was napping. Forever. (I just woke up from a nap, but who’s counting?) We’re even going out with another friend tonight. Insanity!

After struggling with some pretty bad dehydration issues for a few weeks, this morning my brilliant wife suggested that I get a passion iced tea at Starbucks while shopping and it was like the sky opened up and angels started singing. Unlike water (gag, puke, misery), I can actually DRINK this stuff. I made a huge batch of it when I got home from the store, and I don’t care if I turn pink from drinking it, at least I am getting fluids into my poor body.

Life these days is not particularly exciting, but as long as I have these little breakthroughs I feel like I may just survive this first trimester. Come on, baby. You will have me wrapped around your fingers for the rest of my life once you’re here–maybe just cut me a bit of extra slack while you’re still growing those little fingers?

17 thoughts on “Little Victories – 12 Weeks

    • I so hear you. That’s been even harder for me than the food issues. Normally all I drink is water, so this was a big curve ball. I have the best luck when I drink things with citrus in them. Lemon in my water, orange juice, a squeeze of lime, etc. Although the passion tea is by far the best solution yet. I hope it gets better for both of us soon!

  1. Yay! So glad food is more appealing to you! For the water issue, I’ve been juicing lemons and putting several tablespoons of the juice into my water, which helps. I’m so glad we’re finally reaching this milestone! Next week we’ll be in the second tri!

  2. Hey. I was severely sucking at commenting toward the end there with my old blog. So to sum everything up: I’m so excited for your future. I’m so sorry about the twin loss…I can’t even imagine how it’s been for you. But I am equally as glad that this baby is thriving, and you’ve made it so far already. 🙂 I’ve been following your journey this whole time…and I hope to be a much better commenter and bloggy friend from now on. 😉 ❤

      • OMG SCHOOL ALMOST KILLED ME, hahaha. It was so hard. I am definitely enjoying the break! Still debating when I’ll go back. (I will go back though! And soon!) Just need to see how hubby and I settle into parenthood and homeownership and everything in between. 🙂

        Thinking of you! ❤

Leave a Reply

