Silly Goose

There’s so much I want to write about, but a very sweet girl deserves a post all her own.

g1

Yesterday evening after many hours at the vet, Twix and Rolo unexpectedly lost their best friend, Goose.

IMG_2145

Goose was my mom’s dog.  We adopted her as a family ten years ago.  I was living with my mom at the time, and she had decided that her new house needed a dog.  It had been a number of years since my childhood dog had passed away, and she was ready.

IMG_0253

We met Goose one day at an adoption event at Petsmart.  She jumped up on my mom, knocked her on her rear end, and then sat on her.  It was love at first sight–for all of us.

Meeting Goose for the first time

Meeting Goose for the first time

Goose’s name was no accident. When we first brought her home, we thought it was a ridiculous name.  We tried for weeks to change it, but noticed a trend.  Goose would be out back rolling around the grass with her insanely long tongue hanging out the side of her mouth, and we lost count of the number of times we said, “Come here you silly goose,” or “you are SUCH a silly goose!”  She was meant to be Goose.  Our silly Goose.

IMG_2145

About a year later, I moved in with Catch and we brought Twix home.  I wasn’t sure if Goose was ever going to forgive me for bringing that puppy into her life, but Twix wore her down and the two became buddies.  Twix would stand on the couch and Goose would sit on the floor and they’d wrestle while we all sat and laughed.  Goose could always make us laugh.

IMG_3208

We’ve had our share of adventures and car rides with the Gooser. From camping trips to beach excursions, if it involved a ride in the car and a body of water, she was all in.

DSC_0147

I can’t imagine our family without our Goosie dog.  There is not a single person who is important to me who hasn’t met and loved the Goosie.  She was our comic relief, my mom’s best friend, and just the sweetest, silliest, most devoted and loving dog you could imagine.  She loved to swim, and she’d chase balls in the pool forever if you let her.  She loved tearing the squeakers out of stuffed toys.  She loved us–with all her heart–and was so loved in return.

IMG_0230

Rest in peace, sweet girl.  Wherever you are, you have our hearts.

IMG_4698

20 thoughts on “Silly Goose

  1. That last photo kills me. Old dogs are so so beautiful. I’m glad she was in a home where she was so obviously treasured. I’m so sorry for you family. It’s such a terribly painful thing to go through.

  2. What a special dog! So sorry for your loss. They are family and It is always hard to lose part of your family 😦 Thinking of you all during this time…I’m sure Goose is watching you from above….tongue hanging out and all 🙂 xoxoxo

  3. Your post brought me to tears. I’m so, so sorry about Goose. Your words about her brought joy into my life with simply a description of her. May she rest in peace.

  4. I am so very sorry for your loss. I hope that the many happy memories will help comfort you during this very difficult time! Hugs!!!

Leave a Reply

