When will I learn?

Nothing fertility related EVER goes according to plan. At least not for me. I should know this by now. I really should.

Egg retrieval went well. We have 16 eggs. We’ll find out the status of maturity & fertilization tomorrow.

The unexpected curveball is that my “absolutely perfect” lining has developed a polyp. It’s a small one, but it’s in the exact spot where the RE wants to place our embryos.

It is most likely at this point that a fresh transfer is out for us. We’ll find out Friday for sure. Some of the decision will be based on the performance and ultimate quantity of the embryos.

I feel pretty devastated right now. Maybe I shouldn’t. Maybe I’m being a drama queen. I’m just sitting here sore from the procedure, a bit foggy from the anesthesia, and all I want to do is cry. There were so, so many what ifs going into today, but this particular scenario never once crossed my mind.

Lesson learned. Again.

13 thoughts on “When will I learn?

  1. From someone who did a frozen transfer (to be fair, it was a planned freeze all, which feels different) – I am SO glad I did. It gave me time to recover from retrieval and feel 100% ok using the pain meds, gave me time to get my head in the right space, and I truly believe it helped implantation to not have all those hormones in my system and be able to focus solely on my lining. I know it SUCKS to have to wait any longer in this process that feels like it never ends . . .
    I’m thinking of you, and hoping you can do whatever feels best for you. ❤

  2. 16 eggs is great! Curveballs never feel good, but maybe it will turn out to be one of those “in hindsight” kind of things that worked out that way for a reason if you do have to do a FET. Or maybe you will be able to continue on with a fresh transfer. Hope that whichever way it goes you get a strong, healthy, sticky embryo in your uterus.

  3. Oh dear, I’m so sorry – that really sucks. It is so awful when you feel like your body has let you down. The pressure we put on ourselves to get things exactly right is so intense huh? It seems dumb that the RE can’t put the embryo anywhere else in the uterus but I’m sure they know best, but still, gah!

  4. Sorry for the unexpected delay, that’s the hardest part of this whole ordeal. I agree with AndiePants, I think I would be very anxious to be pregnant already and would want a fresh transfer, but there are definitely huge benefits to the frozen. When you do the frozen, you do not have all the stimulation medications still in your system, no bloating, and probably a lot less discomfort. My doctor explained you just do a round of Femara or an oral follicle stimulant for 5 days at the beginning of the cycle, and then a trigger shot to time ovulation and to know when your body will be ready for transfer, all just to ensure the corpus luteum is on-board with supporting the embryos. I’d expect my body to be under a lot less stress in this scenario, I’ve even read that frozen success rates are higher than fresh. Not sure if there’s any correlation to this theory, though. Anyway, rooting for you either way! I just had to have a polyp removed, but it wasn’t bad. Delayed me one month, but it was painless and helped me in other ways.

  5. I agree with Andie, I think frozen transfers are the way to go. Your body is so hyped up after all the hormone injections and trauma of the egg retrieval that it doesn’t seem conducive to a pregnancy. That being said FET pregnancy rates are also rising above fresh transfers. Maybe this is a good thing? I know I’d feel the same as you regardless so I’m sorry for the disappointment of another crappy curveball. Keep your head up as best you can.

  6. I hope the frozen transfer works out to be good for you. I hope you recover quickly and they give you good news tomorrow (I’m going to be very sad I can’t check for updates until I get home from work then).

  7. Damn polyp. To be honest though, after my retrieval, I was in such rough shape with OHSS that I’m glad we didn’t transfer the embryos into me. I know the waiting sucks, but if you deal with the things that can be controlled, it may yield a better outcome. Can’t wait to hear more updates.

  8. UGH! So annoying! I’m hoping that it’s good news that you get, but in case it’s not, just remember, you went through all the drama of stims, a million appts, retrieval and now this stupid polyp is in the way, you wanna make sure that your uterus is right where it needs to be for that little embryo…who wants to be cramped up in that tiny space with a polyp as a roommate right? So don’t feel devastated…your babies are coming, don’t you worry…u guys are in my thoughts and prayers…

  9. I’m really sorry. I’m still hoping that things will work out for the transfer! 16 eggs is wonderful!!! You are in my thoughts and I hope you get great news tomorrow. Hugs! ❤

  10. Ah my friend I totally understand! We haven’t done retrieval yet but were told today we need to freeze as well as I’m too high of risk of OHSS. Another roadblock on the road to baby. 😦

Leave a Reply

