Distractions

Since I’ve been a sullen, miserable human being in this space the last few days, I thought I’d share some snippets of daily life that help make all of this stress bearable.

1) My Garden

Everything is growing so beautifully.  Our carrots are small, but they are lovely. 

carrots

I walked out to the back yard on Sunday evening and pulled all of this together.  Heirloom tomatoes, miniature red sweet peppers, kale, jalapenos, green onion, lemon cucumbers, chives, basil and thyme.  I made a salad dressing with the herbs, green onion and a jalapeno, and then made the kale, cucumber, peppers, tomatoes and the carrots above into a salad for my lunch at work.

veggies

2) Friends

bowl

On Saturday night, we went to the Hollywood Bowl with one of our best friends and my mom.  Jack Black was hosting Dreamworks’ 20th Anniversary, and the show was as fantastic as the company.  We packed a wonderful picnic and had such a great time.  It was a reminder that we need to do things like that more often.

3) My hound babies

roly

They don’t know why my emotions have been so freaking insane, but they sure recognize that something’s not quite right.  On Monday after the clinic confirmed our BFN and Catch had to leave for her softball game, this little guy sat with me outside like this for ages.  He was so sweet just lying on the grass with his chin resting on my lounge chair.  He didn’t know what was wrong, but he let me know that he was there and that he loves me. 

He was rewarded with chin scratches–his all time favorite.

chin_scratches

My uterus may be empty, but my life is full and I am grateful for every moment of it. 

 

13 thoughts on “Distractions

  1. Finding small joys can be exceptionally rewarding. I’m glad you have many. And I continue to send you peace for your grieving heart.

    • I love growing carrots. They’re my favorite of everything. I think because I consistently have good luck with them. (Knock wood.) I love the rainbow ones, but I wish the red carrots were red on the inside, too! It really seems like they should be.

      • Yeah, like purple beans. They turn green when cooked! We’ve got a good crop of eggplant this year, which is a new one for us. I love summer veggies!

Leave a Reply

