Where do we go from here?

I’ve been blessed with pretty good instincts. My gut feeling is usually both loud and right. That’s why the position I’m in right now is so hard for me. Someone hit the mute button on my instincts, and my intellect is running in circles. It’s making me positively batty.

We met with my RE yesterday afternoon. I got to keep my pants on for once, and it was all very civilized. Just the three of us in her office with my file between us and my (all clear) HSG results on a monitor.  And of course her wall of other people’s baby pictures.  God forbid their doctor egos could forgo that.

We talked about everything. She said she really thought we had it last cycle, and we told her we thought so too. We discussed my weight loss and how it really seems to be helping to regulate my cycles. We told her we’re tired of being on this ride and that we’d like to consider being more aggressive.

She said that at this stage, she’s not comfortable doing more of the same, anyway. She wants to change it up. We discussed adding injectable meds to another double IUI cycle and then we brought out the big guns and started talking IVF.

photo

This is where I’m lost. All I can see is our dwindling savings account and our zero dollars of fertility coverage with my health insurance. I have never been much of a gambler, and it seems that’s all this is. You review the odds, place your bet and wait. It’s the only way, and the unfairness of it all is eating away at me.

Catch feels the same way I do. We’re lost.

So the question now is whether we put all of our eggs into the basket that gives us two tries with 20% odds each time or one try with 50% odds.

I’ve been trying to play that mind game with myself where you take an option off the table entirely just to see if you immediately want to yank it back. Trouble is that I yank both options back. I want it all. I don’t want to have to choose.

We have about 10 days to make our decision and a lifetime to regret it.

5 thoughts on “Where do we go from here?

  1. I don’t actually assume you’re asking anyone to weigh in with their opinion but the internet is a sea of unsolicited advice so . . . a couple of things that come to mind, as someone who has taken the IVF plunge but is also still in the gambling stage: 1) Does your RE have a shared risk type plan, where you could pay slightly more to get multiple tries? Usually they cost more up front, but also have the advantage of giving you X amount of tries and then a partial or full refund if you don’t get a baby in that time. 2) Have you considered looking at clinics and comparing IVF success rates? It sounds like you have a relationship with your current doc, so it might not make sense but my RE has closer to 65-70% success rates with my age and dx, which made the decision a little easier for us.
    I don’t envy the position you’re in (I was in it too, not so long ago) and hope your gut speaks up soon. ❤

    • I am all in favor of input! LOL I keep hoping someone will think of something I didn’t consider.

      So the answer to #1 yes, they do have a shared risk plan for multiple tries. It’s something I would consider if we decide to go forward assuming I can make the numbers work. I didn’t have my wits about me enough yesterday to discuss it with them, so we only reviewed the financial data for a single cycle.
      #2) Our clinic’s overall success rate for my age range is a phenomenal 78%, but for some reason when I asked her yesterday what our chances are with IVF, she told us 50-60%. Again, no wits about me, but I assume she’s taking into consideration what she knows of my health history and such in determining her number? That or she’s being super conservative? I like 78% SO MUCH BETTER than 50%.

      At this point, I’m ready to close my eyes and point. Thanks for the encouragement. 🙂

  2. I don’t have any advice, other than it sounds like neither option is that great. There are a lot of IVF babies in the blogging world, but also a lot of IUI babies.

Leave a Reply

