Weighing In

Progress report time:

It’s been 11 weeks since I made the grand proclamation that I want to lose 28 lbs by the time we resume TTC in March.  I had a few rough weeks over the holidays, and another few rough weeks really getting back on track, but our appointment with Baby Doctor last week really pup the pep in my step.  I feel like I’m finally back in the game. 

Mondays are our weigh in day, so as of this morning I’m down 14.9 lbs. since November 18th.  The My Fitness Pal tracker on the right is rounding up to 15 lbs, but I’m not comfortable celebrating that milestone until the scale celebrates with me.

The holidays did set me back, though.  It’s unlikely that I’ll reach my goal by the time I start my March period, but hell—progress is progress and I’ll take it.  If I can get anywhere close to my goal, I will be ecstatic.

Here’s what’s working for me:

1)      Weight Watchers.  I truly love their system.  Counting points seems tedious until you get the hang of it, but it’s worth the adjustment period.  I love pulling out my iPhone at the grocery store and using the bar code scanner to scan labels on things—it’s so flipping easy.

2)      Vegetables.  Lots of them.  I’m eating at least 2 servings of veggies with my lunch most days, and it helps keep me pretty satisfied until dinnertime.  I’ve also been adding finely chopped kale to almost every recipe I make.  We usually have 2-3 servings of veggies with our dinner, and I generally snack on fruit mid-morning and mid-afternoon.

3)      Pinterest.  A few minutes of searching gives me some great ideas for the week.  We’re trying to mostly have gluten free dinners with the occasional exception.  Here are a few of my favorite recipes from the past few weeks: Balsamic Chicken & Mexican Sweet Potato Casserole. My recipe notes are on the pins.

4)      Water.  I keep a quart sized mason jar on my desk at work and force myself to drink it all day.  I usually get at least 6 cups of water in this way, and drink another 2-4 at home in the evening depending on exercise.

Photo5)      Exercise.  I hate it, but I’ve been doing it.  We both have Fitbits now, and we love them.  I like having a concrete goal staring right at me all day.  It gives me the push I need to try to go the literal extra mile at the end of the day.  30 minutes on the treadmill will become 40 minutes on the treadmill if it means reaching those 10,000 steps.  On Friday, I walked around our office complex at lunch so that I wouldn’t have to be on the treadmill so long in the evening.  It’s pretty satisfying when the Fitbit does its little vibration/lights dance when you reach your goal. 

6)      Chocolate.  Half of a Hershey’s Special Dark bar is 3 points on Weight Watchers.  It feels like a major indulgence, but it’s only 3 points—totally manageable.  Alternatively, 23 Ghirardelli 60% dark chocolate chips are 3 points.  As long as I can have a bit of chocolate in my life, I don’t mind one bit that half of our grocery bill is kale and broccoli.

I feel like it's worth noting that I bought a work top online sometime in November.  When it arrived, it was too tight.  I tossed it back in its packaging intending to return it.  I forgot to return it.  (Typical!)  Catch found it yesterday, and I decided to try it on one more time before we pass it on to a friend.  I wore it to work today.  Progress.

 

One thought on “Weighing In

Leave a Reply

