Ducks in a Row

Yesterday’s consult at the fancy fertility clinic was both overwhelming and not.  If that’s possible. 

We weren’t in very good shape when we arrived.  I had a massive headache, and Catch threw her back out over the weekend, so she was barely able to hobble in there.  We were quite the pair.  Add a serious conversation with a serious doctor and an equally serious pelvic exam to our already fragile state, and it wasn’t the prettiest picture.  We ended the evening with margaritas.  Enough said.

 So, the plan is this:

  1. Change donors.  The doctor (we’ll call her Baby Doctor from now on) was not thrilled with the washed sperm count of our donor, which is kind of a bummer because we really like that donor.  She clearly had a personal preference for California Cryobank and is strongly encouraging us to try to find a donor with them, so we’re going to give it a shot.  Catch is home today hopefully perusing their catalog of donors.  We had two donors picked out from CCB previously, but they’re both anonymous and we decided forever ago that we really want an open donor.
  2. Continue our weight loss journey.  She asked me to try to lose 10% because she thinks I’ll respond better if I do.  I’m going to do my best.  I really need to get my head back in the game.  It’s been rough ever since the holidays.  You would think that a baby would be motivation enough, but I won’t lie—it’s hard.  Really hard.
  3. Do two more IUI/Cloimd/triggered cycles, but this time we are doubling up the inseminations.  Also doubling the sperm and the cost.  Yikes.  For a single cycle, we are looking at $1600 for two washed vials of sperm and around another $1000 for the double IUIs including the ultrasounds and such.  It’s not unreasonable at all—it’s just double, and if neither attempt works, that’s a bit hard on our savings account.  It’ll be $5,000 we don’t have for the next step.  Ouch.

In Baby Doctor’s expert opinion, I have a hands down, no questions asked case of PCOS.  That confuses the crap out of me because my regular gyno said that I didn’t fit enough of the criteria for a diagnosis.  Whatever.  She did a pelvic ultrasound and lost count of the cysts on my ovaries after she reached 20 on each one.  She also informed me that I have a retroverted uterus, which supposedly doesn’t interfere with fertility, but changes where she places the sperm during the IUI. 

Baby Doctor has ordered more blood tests than I have ever seen, including a 2 hour glucose screening.  Picture one of those lab order forms and mentally check off 18 boxes.  How many vials of blood do you suppose that is?  Do they think I’m just a fountain of blood?  Was she a vampire in a past life?

She also really wants to order an HSG, but I am highly allergic to the contrast dye that’s used in the test, so she’s shying away from it for now.  She said that if our two IUI cycles fail, we’ll have to order the test.  They normally perform them in their own lab, but she said she’d send me off to a radiologist who’s prepared to deal with the allergy.  Supposedly, they pump me with steroids and such and hope for the best.  The last time I was injected with this type of dye, my head was in a CT scan thingy and I started sneezing uncontrollably (and hitting my head on the machine with every sneeze) while my blood turned to molten lava in my veins—it burned like an SOB.  I vaguely recall emergency room people rushing in with IVs of saline to try to flush it out of my system.  Overall, not an experience I’m looking to repeat—and I can’t imagine they’ll get very good images if I’m lying there sneezing non-stop.

They said that it would be better for us financially if I can get my own doctor to submit the lab orders because they should be covered by my insurance that way.  Since I don’t have a regular physician (I know—terrible), I called and made an appointment with Catch’s doctor this morning.  I see him on Tuesday afternoon, and I hope to god he doesn’t hassle me about ordering these tests.  I am horrible at this stuff.  It stresses me out beyond belief. 

So, that’s where things stand.  IF my cycles stay on track, we’re looking at starting with Clomid sometime around the 20th of March.  Two full months of diet, exercise, blood tests, and donor searching.  Wish us luck.

6 thoughts on “Ducks in a Row

  1. I hear ya about losing weight. It is hard to stay focused and on track all the time, even if you know it’s for baby. Well good luck. Maybe switching things up like this is what you need.

  2. 🙂 It sounds like we may be TTC buddies in March! I’m surprised there isn’t an alternative dye that can be used for allergies. 😦 It sounds like a really bad idea to put something you’re allergic to into the baby-making parts. I hope the first IUI works out for you so it doesn’t come to that.

  3. There actually is an alternative dye, but apparently only certain radiologists use it and she said she doesn’t know of any who do. I guess we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it. I really hope we’re TTC buddies in March! My fingers are still crossed for you! (And for us…lol)

Leave a Reply

