Carrots in the Garden

One of the first things I do when I get home from work is to take a trip out to the garden to check on things.  It's definitely one of the better parts of my day–I love our garden.

Today, as usual, there were lazy hounds draped about the yard hoping for belly rubs as I pass by. (Pardon the lousy images–these are from my cell phone since I let Catch take my good camera on a trip with her this week.)

Lazy_hound

There are red lightening tomatoes ripening just in time to take some to my mom's house tomorrow.

Red_lightning

There are carrots ready to be harvested whenever we want them. There is nothing quite like having carrots ready to be plucked from the ground anytime I need one. 

Carrots_picked

The mix I planted is supposed to be a combination of red, white, yellow and orange, but I only have red and white for some reason.  Not sure what happened there.  

The red carrots are my favorite–peel them, and they are shockingly orange on the inside.  I really did expect them to be red.  I've never planted carrots before, so this is a learning experience.  I can't wait to get round 2 in the ground!

Peeled_carrot

Chopped_carrots

Leave a Reply

